Skip to content

A week ago last Saturday…

August 26, 2007

I had the dubious pleasure of sitting in a mall for four hours while waiting for my knight in shining armor (or rather my sweaty shining knight in a gray armor colored Honda) to rescue me and take me home. I wasn’t sure initially how long the wait would be so I fortified myself with a DQ Heath Bar Blizzard and sat down at a table to observe natures. The natures of people, that is.

Let me say that there is a lot of bad underwear out there. I was not sitting near a Victoria’s Secret store either. I was watching women walk around the mall, ride up and down the escalator, and go in and out of stores. I saw more wrong foundational garments then the blue light table of marked down undies at Kmart.

More than once I cringed, gasped and gulped. No subtle voyeurism was necessary, because the malefactors of this criminal apparel had it all out there for public viewing. More than once I considered the ramifications of saying, “Please do not wear a canary yellow bra under a tight white tee shirt. It really is not becoming. Check the mirror first next time.” or “I thought I would remind you that turquoise, as in your very obvious thong is really a darker and brighter color than the khaki tan shade of your pants. Discretion is not a bad word.”

What has happened to women that we, she, they think that the display of hoochie lingerie is an appealing event for anyone involved?

Oddly enough, I began to think of all the wrong spiritual foundations that women choose which I know is a weird word picture for some people and will probably require some defense, but think about it. Underwear is a foundational piece of attire necessary for the girding up, holding in and supporting of our physical bodies throughout the days–yes, for comfort but also for utility. Some things should not swing in the wind while working on tasks. AND, regardless of the very obvious exercise of the opinion that the public enjoys viewing your underwear choices, a properly fitted, properly chosen, and properly worn piece or pair of underwear is not seen on the outside. Rather, the proper benefits of good underwear should be and will be evidentially visible–as in, things will not sag, pooch or droop.

I’m not talking about a Victorian chastity belt. Albeit, some of the females that day probably should have been shopping for one instead of selling the wares. And while this post necessarily points to the issues of appropriate female attire, modesty and reverence for your body as a temple of the Holy Spirit for believers, I’m not trying to discuss skirt length and scooped neck dimensions. Follow the logic that when modesty and reverence for your body are in proper perspective, the dilly dally over this skirt or that one, that top or this one resolve themselves.

Instead, my point is that when a woman takes the time, diligence and investment of will to properly attire her spirit with strong spiritual foundations of God’s truth, then her outward life and its example evidentially display those disciplined choices. Her emotions are supported. Her indulgent and selfish expressions are held in because obedience is practiced instead. Her thoughts are girded with truth resulting in words spoken in love of God’s grace. The sagging, pooching and drooping of flesh is sanctified by the Holy Spirit.

However, when a woman is sloppy, undisciplined, and even lazy towards her spiritual foundations, the result causes cringing, gasping and gulping. A sagging emotionalism, a drooping inability to obey or pray, and the pooching display of letting it all hang out disobedience are the appalling and God displeasing results.

There have been many times in talking with women or reading blogs and comments that I cringe at the poor choice of spiritual foundations. I more than once consider the ramifications of saying, “Please do not place your feelings over God’s truth, it’s like wearing a canary yellow bra under a white tee shirt. It only says that you did not properly study your reflection in His eyes before venturing out with your mouth. It is not becoming of a professing Christian to have an underdeveloped appreciation for His Word and an overrated sense of emotionalism.”

Or, “I thought you should know that the statements you are making point to a darker disobedience than the khaki tan profession of Christ you pretend to make. Disciplined study of what God’s Word really says is not a bad thing.”

What has happened to women that we, she, they think that the display of idolatrous spiritual foundations is an appealing event for anyone claiming to be a member of Christ’s Church?

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2007 10:00 pm

    I am sure that I have worn visible underclothing out of plain old forgetfulness and the inevitable results of having a figure that changes every few months due to babies. I wonder how I could fit that into your metaphor.

  2. August 26, 2007 10:15 pm

    Veronica, I well remember the nursing days where lack of sleep produced a startling “wardrobe malfunction” of my own that to this day causes me to blush. That the process of sanctification manifests the grace of the Holy Spirit to us exactly because the flesh is not only saggy but weak, is yet one more way we depend upon and cling to the promises of Christ. I’m not after the weary in this metaphor, I’m chastened alongside of the willful.

  3. Clemntine permalink
    August 27, 2007 12:09 am

    I am a fan of the well-written metaphor, and Elle, you have certainly come up with a goodie! Foundation/foundation…pure inspiration! My mind has already taken this down so many other paths of application, complete with backup Scripture. May I please have your permission to file your illustration away for future use with the young ladies of our church (not to mention the ones in my home)? I’ll give proper credit, of course.

  4. August 27, 2007 9:04 am

    Clemntine, you have my permission and thanks for the encouragement. To God be the glory for the weird word pictures He gives to this one in need of the grace of His foundations.

  5. August 27, 2007 9:04 am

    Clemntine, you have my permission and thanks for the encouragement. To God be the glory for the weird word pictures He gives to this one in need of the grace of His foundations.

  6. August 27, 2007 10:09 am

    I sure hope I sag, pooch, and droop less and less. Now that I’m older I need to rely on the good, solid foundation! Blessings on you and your thoughts…

  7. August 27, 2007 10:09 am

    I sure hope I sag, pooch, and droop less and less. Now that I’m older I need to rely on the good, solid foundation! Blessings on you and your thoughts…

  8. August 27, 2007 10:18 am

    Oh Elle…this paragraph is so eloquent: “However, when a woman is sloppy, undisciplined, and even lazy towards her spiritual foundations, the result causes cringing, gasping and gulping. A sagging emotionalism, a drooping inability to obey or pray, and the pooching display of letting it all hang out disobedience are the appalling and God displeasing results.” I’ve been there, to my deep mortification and chagrin, and am ever grateful to the Lord for restoring my foundation.

  9. August 27, 2007 10:18 am

    Oh Elle…this paragraph is so eloquent: “However, when a woman is sloppy, undisciplined, and even lazy towards her spiritual foundations, the result causes cringing, gasping and gulping. A sagging emotionalism, a drooping inability to obey or pray, and the pooching display of letting it all hang out disobedience are the appalling and God displeasing results.” I’ve been there, to my deep mortification and chagrin, and am ever grateful to the Lord for restoring my foundation.

  10. August 27, 2007 1:03 pm

    What a good word picture. Great post, Elle.

  11. August 27, 2007 1:03 pm

    What a good word picture. Great post, Elle.

  12. August 28, 2007 7:44 am

    Have I mentioned how blessed I am by the word-pictures which God supplies to illustrate the truths we all need to hear? Hard truth is the best truth of all.

  13. August 28, 2007 7:44 am

    Have I mentioned how blessed I am by the word-pictures which God supplies to illustrate the truths we all need to hear? Hard truth is the best truth of all.

  14. August 29, 2007 2:55 pm

    Wonderful, just wonderful! Blessed right down to my foundation!

  15. August 29, 2007 2:55 pm

    Wonderful, just wonderful! Blessed right down to my foundation!

  16. Fiona permalink
    August 30, 2007 7:06 am

    When I read this I wept. You have put into words what I have been thinking but could never voice for almost six years. I have three sisters-in-law who know the Lord, but you wouldn’t think so simply by what they (and their daughters)choose to wear especially at family gatherings. It has grieved me many times, but I now know how to pray. Thank you. May we truly not neglect our foundation in Him.

  17. Fiona permalink
    August 30, 2007 7:06 am

    When I read this I wept. You have put into words what I have been thinking but could never voice for almost six years. I have three sisters-in-law who know the Lord, but you wouldn’t think so simply by what they (and their daughters)choose to wear especially at family gatherings. It has grieved me many times, but I now know how to pray. Thank you. May we truly not neglect our foundation in Him.

Leave a comment