Skip to content

Twenty years ago…

August 25, 2008

I met a boy. He was a young man really, a Junior. I saw him at a social event fraternity party, and developed an instant crush. He was friendly and polite to me that evening, but afterwards, would have nothing to do with me other than a polite smile or hello when passing one another around campus.

I was relentless though. Boy crazy freshman girls tend towards that compulsive tendency. I went to every social event I thought he might attend. However, I soon discovered that he was not like the other guys and could take or leave, usually leave, the college social scene without any regrets. This only intrigued me more.

There was one last dance that year of my crushing pursuit where I ran into him. He did finally ask me to dance. Following the dance, he thanked me and walked off. Short of swooning I went up to two friends and informed them that I had danced with the man I was going to marry.

I think Bwaahaahaa was part of their response. The other part was, “Him? He’ll never even ask you out.”

Summer came and went, I grew up a bit, and began my sophomore year only a tiny bit wiser. A group of mutual friends connected us at lots of different events during the same time frame that God was renewing my heart towards Him. Where God had been only a passing fancy, He became my first love.

My heart now properly focused displayed itself in my actions. And suddenly, I was more intriguing to this guy, now only a friend, no longer a crush. Fast forward to an afternoon where he was helping me take yet another car with problems to the mechanic. On the way back to campus, we were in a wreck, but neither one of us seriously hurt. Circumstances literally threw us together over the next few weeks of answering insurance questions and resolving wreck trauma issues.

After a month of this, he asked me out on an actual date. I was giddy, but also reluctant in the concern that a good and comfortable friendship not be “ruined” by a relationship.

Yeah, right. What was I thinking?

He was wonderful, and the foundation of friendship, humor and like interests only strengthened the relationship. One month later he gave me our first kiss and told me that we would be getting married. That was in February 1989. By November 1989 he made it official with a ring and public announcement.

And on August 25, 1990, we walked down the aisle and made lifetime vows to one another before God and witnesses. Today is our 18th anniversary.

Eighteen years is its own lifetime and still only a flash in the pan. The first seven years of our marriage between the military and our first son’s illness, we probably had spent more time apart than together. Yet, God faithfully continued to knit us together. Having blessed us with chronically stubborn temperaments, God has revealed His glory in all the trials and challenges He has providentially given. We have known great loss, tremendous blessing and throughout, His enduring love.

I thank God for persevering in us and requiring more of us than we thought we could give all the while giving to us more than we thought we could ask. I thank God for granting me this man I am blessed to call my Husband. Happy Anniversary to us!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellen permalink
    August 25, 2008 9:22 am

    A very happy anniversary to you and your guy Elle! May God bless you with many more years growing together in His love. Today is Josh and Laura’s 7th anniversary. (our eldest)

  2. August 25, 2008 9:42 am

    Happy anniversary! I loved hearing your story!

  3. rosemary permalink
    August 25, 2008 9:48 am

    Happy, happy anniversary! Thanks be to God for giving you to each other, and may He continue to bless you and cause your marriage to be a glorious reflection of His love to His people.

  4. August 25, 2008 11:02 am

    Happy anniversary! May God continue to grow and strengthen your marriage.

  5. August 25, 2008 11:48 am

    Happy Anniversary!

  6. August 25, 2008 4:34 pm

    What a cool story! A wreck huh? Not many people can say that was what brought them together!

    Your relationship started off with a bang is what you are saying.

    Thank you. I’ll be here all week.

  7. Dana permalink
    August 25, 2008 7:07 pm

    Happy Anniversary!

  8. August 25, 2008 9:04 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Blessings on you two as you continue the journey!

  9. Michelle permalink
    August 25, 2008 10:51 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Thank you for sharing such a beautiful love story and testimony of God’s perfect timing and wisdom. God bless you both as you continue to seek and serve Him together.

  10. August 26, 2008 5:02 pm

    A few weeks ago, you called my 18th anniversary post a “precious tribute.”

    Right back atcha. Happy Anniversary!

  11. August 26, 2008 5:42 pm

    Happy Anniversary! Thanks for sharing your story so that we may boast in the Lord’s goodness with you both!

  12. August 28, 2008 9:18 pm

    Happy anniversary! What a beautiful story.

Leave a Reply

