Skip to content

Bunker week was a…

August 24, 2008

doozy of a week. Let’s recap, shall we?

Monday: The van and her transmission completely died necessitating open transmission surgery. The boys and I stayed at the house, did school, and waited for it to rain.

Tuesday: The boys and I stayed at the house, did school, and waited for it to rain.

Wednesday: The boys and I stayed at the house, did school, and waited for it to rain.

Thursday: The boys and I stayed at the house, did school, and it began to rain.

Friday: The boys and I stayed at the house, did school, and it continued to rain. Addendum: the boys were by lunchtime rescued by a friend, served McDoodles gourmet, and whisked off to play.

Friday late afternoonish, Husband and I drove to the transmission trauma center and pledged to each other to leave with a vehicle. Of some sort. We were able to leave with my van and its BRAND NEW INTACT TRANSMISSION.

Yippee and WooHoo!

We survived. We saw God’s sweet provision through the generosity of friends. I was given solace of time to work on projects. We saved a lot of money on gas. God gave the rain from Fay that our area needed and quite obviously Florida did not need anymore.

The week was another picture of God’s two-sided providence. Not having my van for the week was a real inconvenience and a real blessing. I had to prioritize errands and humbly receive other’s help. There was a complete elimination of non-essential tasks and other busyness that can quickly overwhelm a week. I saw the boys pull together in our circumstances and give extra help around the house. Even when the cabin fever set in around Thursday afternoon, they kept levels at a dull roar.

In some regard I have always dreaded the Bunker Weeks, but this time, God allowed me to see another side of His reason for ordaining it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 25, 2008 9:29 am

    Praise God! Surviving at home a week without a car is an accomplishment indeed. (Gold medal for you, m’lady!)

    God teaches us much in even the “small things” in life, doesn’t He?

Leave a Reply

