Skip to content

Status report is the…

August 20, 2008

order of blog posts today, courtesy of Brenda at A Family Revised.

Physical: I’m trying out some physical therapy exercises for my back with hopes that the stretching will improve the lingering tightness and soreness. While I’m doing the exercises my back feels great. It hurts while doing laundry, cleaning the kitchen and bathrooms, and cooking. Go figure.

Educational: I’m really pleased with how our school year has worked out so far. We started in June and have accumulated over 50 days. We’re all in a good circadian rhythm schedule right now, which I know will change with Fall’s daylight savings event. However, I continue to see the benefits of home education and remain grateful for the gift. And the individual reports the boys did on their colonies absolutely rocked!

Spiritual: I studied through Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy this summer in conjunction with my pastor’s series on God’s Law. He is not finished with his series, and no way did I plumb the depths of those amazing books either. I plan to work on this study the rest of the year. I’m verrrry excited!

House: If cleaning the bathrooms counts for major points today on house progress, then count me as lucrative. I do still have the master bathroom to clean. I always procrastinate on that one because of my own folly to keep too much stuff on the counter that has to be removed and then re-placed. I think there’s a lesson in here, but thinking about it is making my back hurt. Move on.

Financial: If you read here, you all ready know where the ouch is coming. In sweet notes on this front though, our times of family prayer regarding God’s provision has moved our sons to offer their own piggy banks as help. I thanked them for their generosity and assured them that while there might come a time when Mom and Dad need financial assistance, it is not quite this week. I am touched not only by their offers but by the fact that they are seeing God answer prayer in our family’s life for this provision through His abundance.

Family: Husband and I often call certain weeks of our year, when all things collide, collude and collate into clouds of obstacles, “Bunker Week”. This is when we hunker down, profess our love for one another, pledge humor as our motto, God as our Banner, and faith as our shield. Since this is currently a Bunker Week, we’ve actively looked for opportunities to assure each other of God’s amazing grace. In those moments, I remember how God blessed me 18 years ago (the 25th) with this man as a lifemate. We added the words, “For if God is for us, who can be against us?” to our wedding vows then, and we’ve lived its truth since.

To Him Be The Glory!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 21, 2008 9:02 am

    A wonderful status report! I like that “Bunker Week”–we have those but didn’t know what to call them!

Leave a Reply

