Skip to content

Facebook is another type…

July 21, 2008

of master, I’m beginning to realize. My jury is out and a bit discontent with what this ownership might mean.

I thought that Facebook was only another version of MySpace, perhaps a more teen place than a tween one. Apparently I was wrong. From what I’ve seen so far, it seems to be like one unending high school and college reunion hall, minus the cheesy awards for traveled the furthest to attend.

I received a Facebook invite from a friend that said I had to join to see her facebook. (That sentence sounds weird. I suppose we’re all going to have to learn newer vocabulary for facebook stuff, like for blogging–blogworthy, bloggable, blogland, etc.)

Anyway, I didn’t thoroughly consider the consequences of joining merely to see her profile. That and not paying close attention to the word “optional” on some of the prompts had me blithely giving over my email addresses for the Facebook friends search. Before I knew it, some friend-finding bot was scouring the world wide web village for people I know, don’t know, and maybe only crossed paths with in a major city airport.

Since then every time I’ve opened my email, I’ve received another confirmation of being someone’s friend. I suppose it’s meant to feel affirming, “You’ve been confirmed as Space Alien’s friend.” Honestly, it feels a little weird. And disconnected. Which if I understand what this Facebook thing to be all about, is NOT the point.

The point is supposed to be about connecting. However, the whole writing on the wall lacks, shall I say, a certain intimacy of friendship, one that I actually enjoyed. And the obsessive Facebook bot’s habit of updating every.single.thing. that one does on, to, or within one’s profile is maddening to me as well.

Spaghetti Master has added a blinking widget to her wall.

Spaghetti Master has deleted Fettucine from her education profile.

Spaghetti Master has added, no deleted, no I take that back, definitely added Penne to her friends.

See what I mean? Annoying.

Perhaps I’m simply a blogsnob. There’s a new word for you. Blogsnob: A blogger who does not see the Facebook value principle and believes that saying things in 300-600 word counts is more valuable than drive by wall writing.

Combined with the fact that I recently wrote to another blogger about the curse of technology that owns us- our time, our thoughts, and our priorities, I’m verrrry conflicted about whether I want to be part of this next trend.

The other thought I had was maybe Facebook was our culture’s way of getting back at the DMV for years of bad thumbnail pictures. Although from some of the shots I’ve seen, we’re not doing so much better on our own.

*Note: this post was written tongue in cheek. Please lower your hackles. Thank you.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2008 12:14 am

    Oh, I agree. I have suspended my Facebook account. But the other day, a very sweet friend informed me that she is now on Facebook and I told her I’d reactivate “if she’d make me her friend.”

  2. July 22, 2008 12:15 am

    I quite agree with you. I had to read those check boxes carefully. And really, must we always be invited to install apllications??? each time remembering to NOT be notified by email??? I get quite appalled by the invitations from people I didn’t even know in highschool, yet get all KINDS of invites from them via facebook! crazy…

  3. Ellen permalink
    July 22, 2008 12:22 am

    Ha! The pastor a couple Sundays ago said that Facebook was the need to revisit your highschool locker, where you post all you friends photos things you like on the inside of the doors. I’m not expressing as well as he did but the very young congregation was laughing quite loudly…

  4. July 22, 2008 1:18 am

    I’ve been on Facebook for about a year now. My middle schooler wanted his own account, so I decided to join first to figure it all out. I learned all the controls before helping him to sign up. I’ve found it interesting. There are many things which definately more have more affinity to the high school crowd, but it’s been useful for connecting to certain people. I won’t call it harmless, but neither is it totally Orwellian.

    There have been times when I’ve needed to contact people and through Facebook has been more efficient, though I tend to use their mail system rather than wall posts.

    If your kids want to join, be sure you know their passwords.

  5. July 22, 2008 4:38 am

    I have connected with a few people on Facebook that I’d lost touch with, and that was fun. It is a way to stay connected with some — truly, it is a shallower connection, but it’s better than nothing.

    My son and his girlfriend are both across the country working in a camp, and though we talk each weekend, it’s fun to “poke” them or send a little note on their wall or on one of their pictures.

    It hasn’t been too terribly busy for me — most of the people I am “friends” with don’t do a whole lot there. I spend most of my time there playing Word Twist and Scrabulous with friends — I tell myself I am exercising my brain. 🙂

  6. July 22, 2008 12:24 pm

    *giggle* I joined thinking it would be a fun way to connect with people, and while NO ONE from highschool has found me, I do have people “friend” me that I don’t know very well. Since the forum isn’t set up to really get to know people it amuses me. Mind you, I’m not sure when I last updated, poked, or hit a wall either. 😉

  7. July 22, 2008 2:03 pm

    I’ve resisted the siren call of Facebook and My Space. My excuse is that I’m busy and satisfied with my blog and blog friends, and I have no friends from high school that I want to contact. (I was only in my high school for 2 years, so I didn’t really know anyone.) But truthfully, I’m happy that I don’t have one more way to waste my time.

  8. July 22, 2008 2:32 pm

    Twittering is what I don’t get. I am content to blog. I can’t blog, Facebook, MySpace, Twitter, and everything else or I will spend my whole life in front of the comptuer or phone. There isn’t room in my life.

    Get out while you can!!!! 🙂

  9. July 23, 2008 12:05 am

    Girl, I’ve called myself a blogsnob for the same reason, although I guess I’m usually referring to MySpace. I simply don’t get it. When the kids will talk about MySpace, I keep saying, “You mean nobody actually blogs or says anything?” What’s up with that.

    I started with Twitter a couple of weeks ago; it’s fun, but it does sort of freak me out when I get the emails that someone I don’t know is following me on Twitter.

    Are you going to the Southeast Homeschool Expo this week?

Leave a Reply

