Skip to content

My best blogging…

July 19, 2008

unfortunately doesn’t occur actually on my own blog, but in the comments sections of the blogs I love to read.

Hmmm. What’s a girl to do?

Since I have always viewed blogging as a conversation, not the emergent type but a real live, okay, internet, conversation where you read what someone else has written and it prompts your own response. Usually that response is put into that blog’s comments. Although sometimes the response is so big that it grows its own blood source within your brain until you must, must, must blog about it at your own site.

This happens to me all the time.

Lately though, because of time constraints at the computer, that whole lot of life thing it is summer you realize, has me leaving lots of comments at other people’s blogs in response to their incredibly blogworthy writings but not so much getting back to my own site to drain that bleeding over brain growth of my own into actual blog posts.

I apologize. Re-reading that I see how graphic it is. I should probably delete it, but I probably won’t. I’m just trying to get something written here.

Thus and therefore, I have been thinking about what to do. I could simply HT everyone I read and link my comment. That could become tedious with all the clicking and outclicking and inclicking. Plus, it’d be a little bit like listening to all of my conversations.

Or I could quit reading these other blogs and quit commenting on all their blogworthy writings. That would be a little hostile because I really like these other blogs.

Or I could and probably will actually go back to the practical part of jotting down some ideas when I read something that I want to give a greater response to rather than have the brain growth issue.

That would be the most ironic thing, you realize. Jotting down, by hand, on paper, the things I want to blog about. I do love irony.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2008 1:41 am

    : D

    I understand. Really.

    Lately my problem has been simply being so busy that I’m reading on the fly and not taking the time to leave comments OR blog about stuff.

    Sigh. . .

  2. July 20, 2008 2:27 am

    I keep a file open on my e-mail account where I jot down passing thoughts that I want to explore further, sometimes with a link to the blog post that led to them. That may seem like an odd place to put them — but I have that open whenever I am on the computer and it saves me opening Word or something to jot those things down.

    Of course, some of those jottings have been incubating there for ages….:)

  3. July 20, 2008 4:10 am

    Hilarious.

    I have done that, though…commented on another blog, then blogged about it, and linked to the other blog so that my blog readers would have the context. It’s been awhile, but I’ve done it. More than once.

  4. July 20, 2008 1:06 pm

    I have this same problem. A blogging friend told me the other day that I leave the best comments. I said that’s because I’m a professional commenter versus a consistent blogger. 🙂

  5. July 20, 2008 9:23 pm

    Post it notes, stuck to my laptop. That’s my system of irony.

  6. August 7, 2008 3:50 am

    For me, it’s lots of WordPress drafts, with notes and links saved inside. Most actually grow into real posts, some are still waiting.

Trackbacks

  1. Barb, Don & Ray » Blog Archive » Keeping up on blogging and using Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

