Skip to content

I am a Lucy come lately…

July 19, 2008

to this party obviously. I could blame it on many things, but why waste those words.

Truth underlying is that a lot of life in general and specific has taken priority this week over blogging. Tonight as I was finally reading through the 100+ posts in my feed reader, I came across this post at Lisa Writes. I wrote so much in her comments that I decided to just blog it here:

Now you’re reading my mind! Since I’m mostly an all or nothing type of girl, blogging falls into this unusual space in my life because I’m not able to be all or nothing. Maybe this is from where my sporadic blogging binges issue.

At those times of stress, and it is a stress to wonder what to write, will anyone read, blah, blah, blah, I have to remember that I started my blog as an outlet of writing to express life, to finish my thoughts somewhere, and to remember. It has grown from that, but I want that original purpose to continue.

I should have just blogged all that. And so it goes.

And now I have blogged all that. But I’m not finished writing about it. There’s always more.

Mission: I am certainly not opposed to it in blogging. I have toyed with the idea of making this blog an actual ministry minded place, but I realize that position is not really my fit. In blogging at least. God has graciously given me a ministry in my town, and I spend many hours studying and preparing for that.

Of course I pray that when I write about God’s Word in challenge, confession or encouragement on the blog that the post does minister to someone. As much as when talking with another in person I desire that my words be seasoned with grace and so minister to that person. It is a true gift when someone comments that the post helped them.

When I write about my struggles of all sorts, or my sons and their antics, or being so tired you could just cry, I expect that others reading also identify with a nod, grin or outright snort. The community aspect of blogging has been both surprising and overwhelming to me. It is something that I cannot quite get my head around. I shy from clique-ish events at the same time as having a desire to belong to authentic fellowship. Finding that balance without neglecting my family is an ongoing challenge of self-discipline.

I am thankful for this outlet. I do not have any idea how long it may last or what if anything other than a place for complete thoughts this writing will accomplish. I am content not knowing that answer right now and simply continuing to do for this time what comes next.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2008 3:34 am

    I, for one, am thankful for your writing and your friendship.

  2. July 19, 2008 6:39 am

    Thank you for your inspiration. I will be back to read more. What a lovely mission!

  3. July 19, 2008 3:07 pm

    Now you’re reading MY mind! A post I could have written myself, particularly the part about shying away from the clique-ish only to wish for the fellowship. Of course, I could never have said it as well. Doing what’s next and seeking to be faithful, that is my desire too!

  4. July 19, 2008 6:09 pm

    I love this and how neat that we have the same theme verse!! You wrote many of my same thoughts and desires as well and your blog is one I am bloglinning…wonderful.

Leave a Reply

