Skip to content

It is a post of hodge podge…

July 15, 2008

coming to you live, or at least auto-posted.

1. I keep reading that a good blogger needs to have a schedule of blogging. For example, menus on Monday; tips on Tuesday; waffles on Wednesday. No, I don’t think Wednesday works. I have not done this yet. I believe it effectively knocks me out of “good blogger” running. I think I’ll cope.

2. My most often typo in blogging is getting carried away with the “o’s” and ending up with blooger and blooging. What do you think that really says about my mentality towards blogging?

3. I saw a blog the other day where she was taking her 100 things about her post, going through each one and making them their own post. I thought it was a fabulous post. Problem is that now I can’t find her to ask politely if I may poach the idea. Secondly, in looking back over my own 100 things about me post, I may have to re-do the list to even make this great idea work. Since I made my 100 things more like 100 separate sentences strung out and punctuated with numbers to make 100 things. Any suggestions on the blogger etiquette here?

4. I meant to do something special for the 350th post but I missed that benchmark so now I can’t decide if I should go on to the 400th or pick some random odd number to focus on for a special event. This bullet point here only reinforces my number 1 as to why I’m not in the “good blogger” club. I cannot make these decisions effectively or remember significant benchmarks related to blogging.

5. I’d be interested to know how many, or how few, of the readers here are from Georgia and also blog. I don’t know anyone in my immediate circle who even regularly reads blogs let alone actually blogs. Please tell me I’m not on an island with this.

6. I’ve begun to regularly think of memes and themes for memes in my head. Does this mean I am too deeply entrenched in blogging or that I should not eat ice cream before I go to bed?

7. This has always been my favorite number. Does this mean that I’m overly pious or simply completely unoriginal?

8. If you’d known that this hodge podge would be nothing more than a series of random questions, albeit connected by the theme of blogging, except for number 7, would you have continued this far?

9. Sometimes we need something light. However, this post may not even weigh as much as marshmallow fluff. My best friend 3rd grade through 8th grade ate a peanut butter marshmallow fluff sandwich on White Wonderbread every day. She always let me have a bite. My mom wouldn’t buy marshmallow fluff.

10. I’m compulsive enough to have to write 10 bullets. Call me Monk.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 9:07 pm

    But, will you feed your children marshmallow fluff, even if it is with peanut butter? (alright make that your children with no feeding issues, we know all to well how it goes in that case. ie: jelly beans with the sugar sucked off, the french fries diet….)

    Memes: hmmm, I think you’ve been eating too much ice cream before bed. But, you know me, I’m the practical sort. I just can’t get hooked into memes.

    Compulsive? OCD? You’d have to do battle with me for that title!

    Something special: well you did manage to post pictures recently, that’s pretty special.

    I may not be from Georgia, but you’ve got another blogger here. (in multiples now that We Cue! is up and running) http://www.wecue.net. (not to mention the ones I have up for other people.)

    Barb

  2. Ellen permalink
    July 15, 2008 10:49 pm

    Well if nothing else I’ve learned you are one sharp little cookie! I loved you hodge podge. What does that make me…probably more marshmallow than I want to admit :0)

  3. July 15, 2008 11:38 pm

    I type “blooger” all the time, too! I guess I’m joining you on the outskirts of the ‘good blogger’ club, because I just don’t want or need the pressure of a blogging schedule. Yikes! I’m too compulsive and quick to heap totally unnecessary guilt and pressure on myself as it is.

    I live really, really close to Georgia. Does that count? I only know of one person who lives in my town and actually knows me who reads my blog or any blogs, so I kind of feel like I’m on an island, too. I have family and one real life friend from college, other than that, I don’t think anyone reading my blog actually knows me in real life.

    I like light and fluffy (that was fluffly before I fixed it, by the way) posts once in a while. Just keeps it real, don’t you think?

  4. July 16, 2008 1:55 am

    Blooger sounds too much like booger and that might come from having boys.

    I have no idea whatsoever how many posts I have written. I obviously have missed ALL milestones.

    I have a good friend in Georgia and she read my last KIR–including yours–but probably didn’t know where you lived. I’m trying to get her to waste more time on the computer by blogging. šŸ™‚

  5. July 16, 2008 2:50 am

    I really enjoyed reading this!

    #3 Imitation is the highest form of flattery. Give her a HT for the idea and write away!

    #4 Be radical and pick a random number.

    Great hodge podge post!

  6. July 16, 2008 3:09 am

    I enjoy hodgepodge posts. šŸ™‚

    I don’t have a schedule for blogging, either, except for the weekly memes I participate in. I would be bored keeping to that kind of schedule. I like to be free to write what comes to mind when it does — though my more serious posts I usually try to let incubate a little bit before publishing.

    I think you could use the idea you saw and mention that you saw it but forgot where. If she sees it she will probably let you know, then you can edit and credit.

    I am next door to GA. šŸ™‚ I lived there ten years ago — in Douglasville, west of Atlanta.

    I have had some meme ideas at the back of my mind, too. I did one, a book meme a couple of weeks ago. I haven’t explored the other ideas much yet.

    I’ve had marshmallow fluff in Mississippi Mud Cake but not on sandwiches.

  7. July 16, 2008 1:38 pm

    I was just about to log in and post my own hodge podge of sorts, but I think you’ve raised the bar to the point that I wonder if I ought to even make the attempt! šŸ™‚

    I had forgotten all about PB and marshmallow creme sandwiches–yum!

  8. July 21, 2008 9:16 pm

    You totally crack me up!

Trackbacks

  1. I’m thinking about… « A Complete Thought

Leave a Reply

