Skip to content

Have you ever been so tired…

July 14, 2008

that you could just cry? and did?

Yeah, me too. Most recently this Sunday. We came home from church, I looked at Husband and said, “I have so much still to do and I am so tired that I could just cry.”

Blessed man told me to change into comfy clothes–I did–climb into bed–I did–and he would take care of lunch–he did. I would have sung him an aria of praise if one, I could sing, and two, if I could have mustered the energy for that.

Off he betook himself to the local KFC where an ole’ bucket of chicken was purchased and quickly consumed by the children who seem this summer to never be tired. I slept blissfully first and enjoyed my chicken strips second.

Today with my head more in the right place to think, I find myself analyzing why I “fell apart” yesterday. Yes, it was a busy week with two sons in soccer camp, homeschool summer style, and swimming in the afternoon. We were at friends’ houses a couple times during the week, the regular shopping and errands, hosted a dinner party on Saturday night, and then had church twice on Sunday where it was my turn for the Sunday night meal.

Uh oh, I think I’m tired again.

My point being, in my head I tell myself these things, is that while it was a busy week, it’s certainly not the busiest week I’ve ever had, and many of the busy things we were doing actually afforded me some down time to read, reflect, and rest. But Sunday came, the day of rest, and there was nothing in me but tears begging rest. It was a loud reminder of what I have probably too long ignored–the need to really rest. Tears were the doorway to that happening.

So I took the wise counsel and sympathetic offer of Husband and rested. It was exactly the medicine I needed and gave me enough to fulfill that day’s responsibilities without more tears and resentment. Husband demonstrated the gift of God’s rest to His people in how he ministered to me. Too often I try to skip over that need with idle entertainment or extra busy plans or worse, a fiery temper at those most loved around me because I have reached beyond my capacity to cope.

I hope that next time you’re so tired that all you can do is cry that you really do cry and then, really do rest. It’s a necessary gift.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 4:44 am

    I’m tired.

    If I cry, can I borrow your husband?

    šŸ™‚

    Sounds like your hubby knows the importance of Sabbath.

  2. July 16, 2008 1:39 pm

    Yes, I have. And yes, you’re right, it’s a necessary gift.

  3. July 16, 2008 10:47 pm

    Good advice, Elle.

Leave a Reply

