Skip to content

A new day is coming…

July 10, 2008

around here. I’m not only posting pictures, please notice the s, but I’m also participating in a Keeping It Real post hosted by Brenda at A Family Revised.

I do not know who is in control of this blog anymore.

Really, if I told you how long it took me to take the pictures, and they’re still blurry–arrggh, and then import the pictures, after first deleting them all, then re-importing the pictures, moving them to the desktop, and finally, posting them on the blog—well, I’d probably end up using all 393 words of the post that everyone tells you not to bother with because bloggers only skim, not read.

I beg to differ. The people that come here are a discriminating and distinguishing kind, aren’t you? It will be more fun left to your imagination though as to how the whole picture posting thing went down. Hint, there were many exclamations of disgust, hittings of the delete button, and general frustration all eventually soothed by ice cream therapy.

Let’s proceed.

Brenda asked her homeschooling audience to Keep It Real by posting how we store the plethora of homeschooling materials. The catch being that we could not actually organize things, er, straighten up, the plethora before participating.

I did abide by the rules. In fact, I kept it so real, I didn’t retake the really blurry pictures at which you’re about to strain your eyes.

We also had to tell where we purchased the organizing stuff, what room we keep it in, and what works or doesn’t. We use our formal living room for our schoolroom. That way actual living occurs within its walls which if we had a formal living room probably wouldn’t happen.

That’s the upside to the architectural arrangement. The downside is that the formal living room all ready had a lot of furniture crammed in there. Things like my desk, another tall bookshelf, half of a sectional couch, a piano, and a computer desk. These things are still all here, plus now the schoolroom things. It is what it is.

We inherited this bookshelf from my brother-in-law who did not want to take it to China with him. I did not complain about his priorities because I needed a bookshelf. The bookshelf holds construction paper, a dictionary/thesaurus, test booklets, extra notebooks, teacher’s guides not currently being used, infrequently used resources but we need them just in case, and plastic shoebox containers of colored pencils, magic markers, and crayons. On top is another container for my white board markers. To the left of the bookshelf is the entrance to our library room, coming up in a further picture. I’m just trying to give you some placement.

Here is our white board and bulletin board. I am a standing type of teacher and use the white board liberally to show grammar constructions, math problems, history questions, and virtually anything else I can write or illustrate to help the boys understand a concept. The bulletin board holds special pictures.

The “school table” is the kitchen table Husband grew up eating his meals around. It’s another brother-in-law legacy. We may not allow him to return from China without a clause stating we don’t have to give back the furniture!

The fan is there because a sweaty, hot teacher is a cranky teacher, and smart students know this definitely doesn’t work for them.

The blurry picture is trying to convey my youngest son’s school table and storage box. He sits here to do his work while I and his brothers sit at the larger table. Eventually, as he grows, we’ll put all three boys at the big table and say goodbye to this era.

The red storage box holds all of his current books and workbooks. Long ago my mother-in-law suggested a color coding system for the boys. It is a lifesaver in knowing whose notebook, whose water bottle, whose storage box and so on. I almost forgot. The red file cabinet in the corner also holds some homeschool filing papers like curriculum catalogs, attendance records, testing records, and yearly reports. Plus a whole lot of odds and ends.

Here are the older boys’ storage boxes, sandwiching another white board that we use for our Bible verse work. On the floor you’ll notice not a snake but somebody’s belt not properly put away. HOrrOrs! That’s KIR for you.

Lastly, these two pictures show a piece of our library room where I keep last year’s curriculum and literature resources plus this year’s literature resources in approximate order for our reading. That way I can tell the boys to go and get the next book in our order, and usually, they will get it right.

This storage system mostly works for us. Particularly the individual boxes packed with that boy’s books and workbooks. Confusion sometimes occurs in the misplacement of shared resources. I try to keep the teacher’s manuals on the floor beside my rocking chair, at the school table, or on the bookshelf.

I also require the boys to once a week help me to police not only the school room but their individual boxes, getting rid of trash and making sure that all papers have been filed.

This is A Complete Thought signing off and Keeping It Real.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2008 1:24 pm

    That was so fun to see! Thanks for KIR!!!

  2. July 10, 2008 1:57 pm

    I really enjoyed this! You do have quite a few shelves. I REALLY love the colored crate idea. Hmmm. I’m trying to read these posts and immediately figure out if it would work for us.

    Thanks so much for all the picture-effort. It was great seeing how you all do things!

  3. Ellen permalink
    July 10, 2008 2:21 pm

    Hat’s off to you for persevering in taking and uploading and etc. etc. to get your photos on the blog! Well done elle.

  4. July 10, 2008 2:44 pm

    I don’t know if this will help with the pictures at all, but we use Picasa. When you import the pictures from your camera it asks for a name, in this case it could be something like “Homeschool area.” Then when you go to upload them to WordPress, you click on “Add an image “, then on “Choose files to upload,” then on “My Pictures,” then scroll down til you find the file labeled “Homeschool area” or whatever.

    WP used to have less storage space for pictures than it does now, so we started using Flickr for some. You upload them pretty much the same way, then it gives you a url or html code to put your picture in.

  5. July 10, 2008 4:25 pm

    I am comforted to know someone else’s living room looks like mine. 🙂 Great job keepin’ it real! 🙂

  6. July 11, 2008 2:24 pm

    Great post! I like the idea of color coding for the different kids. We have a weekly cleaning ritual, too. The kids really look forward to Fridays and putting all the school stuff back into the hall closet lol.

  7. July 12, 2008 5:33 am

    I just wanted to say I love your bookshelves I keep telling my hubby we just don’t have enough of those.
    I love the table it’s great.
    I also want to say you have done a good job it’s looks pretty organized.

    Good Job!

    Hugs,
    Sheila

  8. July 12, 2008 1:12 pm

    Thanks for the real glimpse into your real life! Love it! And ice cream therapy? I’m thinking I need more of that!

Leave a Reply

