Skip to content

The gig is obviously…

July 4, 2008

up. I have been discovered as a meme stalker and now I have been officially tagged. Veronica of Toddled Dredge fame was tagged for a meme on books, and she is passing the baton.

I am thankful that this meme came during the summer when I actually have time to read some books of my own preference. The typical September to May months find me with a nose buried in various commentaries and Bible dictionaries in preparation for the class that I teach. That is not a complaint. I know myself to be greatly indebted to the theologians and scholars of those books as well as greatly enriched by what I learn.

What I would describe as leisure reading, though, doesn’t usually happen until June-August. IOW, this meme caught me at a good time.

1. Do you remember how you developed a love of reading?
I think it must have been the escape of reading that drew me to itself. We moved around quite a bit when I was a child, and the stress of adaptation and transition threw me into the more solid worlds of reading. I could travel with Laura Ingalls and pretend myself a frontier girl living out her bravery when inside myself, I only felt small, scared and shy.

2. What are some books you loved as a child?

I loved reading series. I would get hooked onto an author or character and try to read everything in that series,. Some favorites were Little House on the Prairie, Anne of Avonlea and Emily by Lucy Maud Montgomery. I also tried to read everything Agatha Christie ever wrote. That woman was amazing! Some singular books that really impacted me were The Westing Game, When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit, The Diddakoi, The Education of Little Tree, and Jacob Have I Loved.

3. What is your favorite genre?

This week it’s historical fiction. In the past it has been mysteries, science fiction, and Christian biography.

4. Do you have a favorite novel?

Not that I could pen myself down to just one. Too hard. Although Absalom, Absalom by Faulkner would rank pretty near the top.

5. Where do you usually read?

Propped on my red couch, with a cat on my lap.

6. When do you usually read?

Anytime I can, though mostly at night or early in the morning.

7. Do you usually have more than one book you are reading at a time?

I don’t know too many serious readers who don’t suffer from this same affliction. I can easily go from book to book, reading snatches of chapters as I pick that one up. Books are scattered around my house at the various stopping places, and if I’m there long enough, at least a chapter or two will be perused. Like Veronica wrote, the only time I try not to do this is when the book itself particularly requires a singular focus.

8. Do you read nonfiction in a different way or place than you read fiction?

I’m an out loud reader of nonfiction as well. Saying it to myself more firmly cements the theory or concept into my head. Maybe this is connected to the same genetic marking of talking out loud to oneself.

9. Do you buy most of the books you read, or borrow them, or check them out of the library?

Mostly I check books out from the library. I do participate in PaperbackSwap.com and have gotten some great books from there. I also frequent our Goodwill Book Cafe and snatch some deals. My main purchasing of books goes into the scholarly and commentary and homeschool varieties.

10. Do you keep most of the books you buy?

Absolutely. Books I have purchased at very low cost in good condition go through PaperbackSwap.com when I need to create more room.

11. If you have children, what are some of the favorite books you have shared with them?

Well, since I grew up with a sister, the books we fell in love with were mostly girl oriented. Having all sons has actually expanded my book adoration. So I am growing in the genre of boy books. I did share The Westing Game with them, and it was a hit. They have also grown quite fond of Encyclopedia Brown and The Hardy Boys which were faves of mine as well. Through homeschooling we have discovered together a love for books by Douglas Bond, Allen French, and G.A. Henty.

12. What are you reading now?

Hood by Stephen Lawhead, a recommendation from Lisa Writes. Knowing God by J.I. Packer. Bird by Bird by Anne LaMott.

13. Do you keep a To Be Read list?

I have the fortune of a small library room in this house, and I have dedicated a shelf to TBR books. I’m not a stickler for this though. A good recommendation will send me scurrying to the library for that book instead.

14. What’s next?

A Daughter’s Devotion by George MacDonald, The Robe by Lloyd C.Douglas, and Respectable Sins by Jerry Bridges.

15. What books would you like to reread?

Absalom, Absalom by William Faulkner, the C.S. Lewis science fiction series, and The Robe by Lloyd C. Douglas–all ready on the TBR shelf.

16. Who are your favorite authors?

C.S. Lewis, George MacDonald, William Faulkner, Dick Francis, Agatha Christie, and P.G. Wodehouse.

Hmmm, let’s see who to tag. How about Rosemary, Dorothy, and Rebekah. I haven’t heard any good recommendations of books recently from you ladies, so ante up, please. Or, if you’re like me, a sneaky meme stalker who needs blog material and has book recommendations to share, please play and let me know in the comments. Thanks.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Veronica Mitchell permalink
    July 4, 2008 12:51 am

    I read The Robe when I was thirteen. It opened up a world for me: I had no idea that it was okay to intellectually question our faith and that there might actually be answers. It had a profound effect on my teenage self. I haven’t tried reading it again as an adult yet.

  2. July 4, 2008 2:31 am

    Wow, this is getting around. I actually started this one myself. 😀

    Somehow I have never read Agatha Christie. I don’t know how that happened. I need to remedy that!

    My boys loved Encyclopedia Brown, too. Well, my oldest one did — my younger two weren’t as interested in books after maybe the early elementary years. Broke my heart!

  3. July 4, 2008 2:58 am

    I’ll do it. It might take a day or two, but I’ll do the meme. I kind of like one about reading!

  4. July 5, 2008 1:11 am

    Count me in, Elle, but I won’t be able to get to it until after the weekend. Its a really busy one here!

  5. July 5, 2008 6:59 pm

    Thanks for the tag! I’m needing some blog material to get me out of the blogging slumps. I’ll get to it soon. By the way, I just finished reading Hood, also because of Lisa’s recommendation. I can’t wait to read the next one now.

  6. July 7, 2008 6:08 pm

    Hi Elle. My post is up here:
    http://fieldstonecottage.blogspot.com/2008/07/tagged-for-meme-on-reading.html

    I really enjoyed doing it as well as reading yours. I see that we both loved the Anne of Green Gables books. (Who doesn’t?) And that we are both reading Knowing God by J.I. Packer at the moment.

    Thanks for the tag.

  7. July 12, 2008 1:21 pm

    Your favorite novel is on your TBR list? My kind of girl! We share many of the same favorites; I too went through a phase where I devoured everything Agatha Christie wrote! And Laura Ingalls Wilder and LM Montgomery! I need to pick up George MacDonald again; I’ve read only one of his novels. And “The Robe” I read a few years ago and loved…

Leave a Reply

