Skip to content

Somedays homeschool is just…

July 1, 2008

plain hard.

Today was one of those days.

My oldest, who is really pretty terrific at math in most ways and on most days, stumbled and grumbled and dragged his feet through the sludge that is fractions and decimals and all the sundry operations and mathematical relationships that bring those two obstinate disciplines together.

I was lost in the midst of the phenomenon known as pi plus another eternity thrown in with it. Will this math lesson ever end?

At lunch I lamented to Husband, “Why couldn’t they have trouble with something I’m actually good at doing–like history or English? Why do they have to have trouble with my own nemesis?”

Husband only grinned.

All day, as the math lesson went on and on, and then the corrections went on and on, I kept thinking about this, how much easier if they would just struggle with something I enjoy and love to teach. Why then I would actually be able to feel competent about my teaching, and I would relish not having to depend on anything or anyone else, and I would be oh so sufficient in myself and….wait, I would also have missed part of the point of homeschooling.

The actual learning. The lesson of humility. The discipline of sanctification. Not only in my sons, but also in me.

Yes, those things really do matter too. And today, I was tested in the chapter on patience with review questions from contentment. I didn’t make 100%.

That’s why tomorrow is another day and another lesson. My Teacher however, is perfectly sufficient in all things.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2008 2:06 am

    Good post! I remember what a shocker it was to realize that my kids would move beyond my knowledge level in some subjects. Humbling, yes? At least we have the teacher’s manual!

  2. July 2, 2008 2:18 am

    See that’s why you need to move here. I can teach Math while you teach English and Reading.

  3. July 2, 2008 4:32 am

    Wonderful post! And when I get frustrated with my children, I often (try to) take a step back and realize that I must look about as foolish and obstinate to my own Father. Because I can be every bit as obstinate about things every bit as small.

  4. July 3, 2008 5:12 pm

    I am SO thankful FirstHusband can help FavoriteSon with what I call “scary math.”

    The year before last, I got an extra textbook for FirstHusband to take on travel so he can help from anywhere he has phone service. Last year, the book was online! It’s so good to see my men “bonding.”

    I once wrote a paper about math as an adversary I had to fight. I got an “A” on the paper. No need to mention the math grades.

Leave a Reply

