Skip to content

Ugh…re-entry is a real

June 21, 2008

beast. How is it I have jet lag without having been on a jet? I need Lana G.‘s counsel on overcoming it.

In the earlier part of the week, just as I had become very used to the relaxed pace of vacationing, I received an email informing me that I was due to serve the Ronald McDonald House dinner on Friday night. Yikes! We had all ready planned to return by Friday, but not as early as serving the meal would necessitate.

I enjoy serving at the RMH. When we lived there during James’ life, the evening meals that were brought in by volunteers was ambrosia for the fast food weary. I was irritated with myself for having mixed up my days, thinking I was to serve on the 30th, instead of the 20th.

Anyway, the McMeal coordinator at the House offered me the use of some frozen entrees that had been donated by others and that would only need heating and serving. I quickly said yes to homemade meatloaf and macaroni and cheese. Another friend hearing of my snafu, baked a fresh blueberry cobbler to add to the mix. I got home and made a run to the grocery store for vegetables and another dessert.

Once there the fixing was quickly completed and the meal rounded out to homemade meatloaf, homemade mac n’ cheese, Southern green beans, steamed broccoli, fresh blueberry cobbler and frosted brownies with vanilla ice cream. Not bad for 35 people.

Again I saw God’s sure hand of provision regardless of my error. Humbled again to see how He has in hand even the details of a dinner.

In that knowledge I go forth to battle the beast of re-entry and his minions of dirty laundry, dirty house, and unpacking. The Lord’s goodness goes before me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellen permalink
    June 21, 2008 3:46 pm

    Ha! Nothing like being shocked back into reality. Hopefully the pace for re-entry has slowed down to a crawl by now…

  2. June 21, 2008 9:12 pm

    Oh boy, can I attest to re-entry being a beast! It is one week tonight since we “re-entered” from vacation and I am just beginning to feel caught up! And that’s without your McMeal snafu, Elle. Hope it goes more smoothly from this point for you.

  3. June 22, 2008 12:04 am

    Oh Elle! Your post came as I was working on a laundry prayer! http://airmiles.wordpress.com/2008/06/21/laundry-prayers/

    Re-entry is the hardest part of travel no matter where you travel or for how long. I think they should call it travel lag not jet lag!

    May you find peaceful rest this weekend.

  4. June 22, 2008 2:30 am

    Welcome back! I like that reference: “re-entry” I’ll have to remember that.

Leave a Reply

