Skip to content

No, I have not given up…

June 17, 2008

on blogging. However, I have found myself gloriously whisked away to the mountains. With only my husband. The boys are being gloriously entertained at Grandma’s VBS. I’m alone in the mountains. With my husband. The house is being watched by a really big football player friend, and the attack cats. I’m in the mountains. With my husband. By ourselves.

Not only do I like saying it. It looks nice typing those words as well.

Since January when the whole back injury and complications occurred, our lives went from one track to a topsy-turvy track of setting aside goals, rethinking plans, and changing our priorities. While none of those doings was particularly dramatic, for two firstborns, the changes were still pivotal.

Which is what makes this blessed time in the mountains together particularly sweet. It’s six days together to talk, to play, to window shop, to eat shrimp twice a day or to eat ice cream for breakfast just because we can without explanation to the boys. We’re making time to read alone and to each other, to sleep in or throughout the day because naps are good things, and to spend time talking about everything and nothing. We are using the time to praise God for what He has taught us since January, to pray together regarding our sons and their future, and to ask His wisdom for upcoming decisions.

I didn’t know that this time would be given to us again by the gift of generous family, and I don’t have any promise that it will be available next year. I am resting with contented heart in all that these moments and days mean right now, and trust that God does supply all my needs. In small and large ways because He is faithful.

So, I have not given up on blogging for good. Just for this week. For a little bit. But if anything blogworthy happens while I am here, I’ll consider writing it down. Or not.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellen permalink
    June 17, 2008 5:55 pm

    Oh enjoy. Be blessed. Be refreshed…

  2. June 17, 2008 6:45 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful week! Have fun!

  3. June 17, 2008 6:46 pm

    Thanks be to God for this sweet and precious gift of time together!

  4. June 17, 2008 7:17 pm

    Enjoy!!!

  5. June 17, 2008 8:15 pm

    What a wonderful gift He has given you! Enjoy it to the utmost!

  6. June 18, 2008 1:20 am

    Have all kinds of fun! May you return refreshed and renewed by the One who made you and loves you.

  7. June 18, 2008 3:41 am

    I am not jealous.

    I am not coveting my neighbor’s vacation.

    Repeat.

    Repeat.

    ENJOY Yourselves! What a blessing!

  8. June 19, 2008 5:00 pm

    Oh, enjoy!

  9. June 20, 2008 7:06 pm

    how absolutely wonderful!

Leave a Reply

