Skip to content

So, my dad called…

June 5, 2008

me this morning to congratulate on finally having reached his age of 39.  Of course, he’s been 39 so long that I don’t really remember how old he is without doing a mathematical calculation involving a rhyme about Christopher Columbus and when he sailed the ocean blue.

We like to keep it complicated.

I read someone’s birthday post the other day, and if it weren’t slam out plagiarizing, I’d just copy and paste that baby here.  She was mentioning how by this point in her life (and she’s younger than moi) that she’s both surprised, annoyed, grateful, and flabbergasted at her life.  I may have added a few adjectives there, but on the whole, that’s what I took from the post and it is echoing in my own aspect as well.

As a child, I expected that at every birthday I would magically feel, you know, older.  But in that whole more mature I can accomplish harder tasks understand deeper concepts solve the world’s problems sort of way.  Kind of like when your Mom buys new tennis shoes for you and suddenly you can run faster and jump higher.  In your mind.

As an adult, I see every birthday as both displaying what I haven’t done or won’t be able to do compounded by what I still have to do.  Only my salvation and His gospel reminds me of what He has done and is doing.  Left to myself, I’m just another weary 39 year old gal. Can I still call myself a gal?  Or is that age specific?

So here’s the status report at 39:

Surprised that I reached today so fast.  I always thought I had more time.

Annoyed that I reached today so fast.  I liked thinking I had more time.

Grateful that I reached today even this intact.  There are certainly stories to tell (blog) about how I got here, but it was all within the divine grace of God that I got here at all.  He alone is wonderful and amazing and precious and majestic in all He does.  Even for weary 39 year old gals.

Flabbergasted that reaching today doesn’t mean anything is actually complete.  And where’s my more time?  I understand the no guarantees clause.  Therefore, I’m still depending on the divine grace of God to take me to His completion.  As His will is done, His sovereignty is displayed.

Here’s to 39!

Oh yeah, and Dad promised that now I can hang out here for as long as I want.  He certainly has.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellen permalink
    June 5, 2008 1:16 pm

    A very Happy Birthday to you!! Only 39, you young thing, you! :0)
    I hope your day is filled with joy and some fun surprises.
    BTW – I’ve really enjoyed being in the 50’s. One of my favorite decades alive so far…
    Oh an about blueberries. You are so right that it’s a race to get some eaten before the birdies eat them all. I’m the only one in my family that will bother picking them so I race out in the morning and pick as many of the ripe ones I can for my bowl of cereal :0)
    Blessings on your next year Elle!

  2. June 5, 2008 2:39 pm

    Happy birthday, Elle!

  3. June 5, 2008 2:53 pm

    Happy Birthday! 39 seems so young to me now!

    I do know what you mean by all those adjectives.

  4. June 5, 2008 4:04 pm

    Happy birthday, she who is perpetually 39. I’m so glad God made you.

    (Your Dad sounds like a keeper.)

  5. June 5, 2008 5:47 pm

    Happy, happy birthday blessings to you, Elle!

    (I’m looking back over my shoulder, squinting through my trifocals, on the verge of reaching for a walker. So shush about reaching 39. Someday it’s gonna seem mighty youthful to you!)

    Wish I could bake you a scrumptious and exceeding large birthday cake, loaded with your favorite frosting. I would sing and dance merrily and place it on the table before you, ablaze with 39 candles, and one to grow on.

    Hope you have a glorious day. I, too, am thankful to God that you are here.

  6. June 5, 2008 9:12 pm

    Happy birthday from someone who is slipping up behind you very quickly. I didn’t mind 36–it’s still close to the middle. Everything after that is too close to 40. When the middle sister turned 40 I was going to call her and say, “Ha ha I’m the only one still in my 30’s.” But then I remembered saying that when she turned 30 and I was the only one in my 20’s. Sigh.

    Happy Birthday! And, next year is not your birthday, didn’t you know? It will be the 1st anniversary of your 39th birthday.

    It’s all in the jargon baby.

  7. June 6, 2008 2:01 am

    39? No. It’s the 19th anniversary of your 20th birthday!

    Happy Birthday!

  8. June 7, 2008 2:46 am

    Happy Birthday, from one thirty nine year old to another! Here’s looking at 40…

    🙂

  9. June 10, 2008 2:52 pm

    Happy Birthday Elle!

  10. June 11, 2008 3:39 pm

    happy birthday a little late. I love your blog style! Very unique:))

  11. June 11, 2008 7:55 pm

    Ditto what Julie said! Mwah!

Leave a Reply

