Skip to content

Last night, Pele’s…

June 3, 2008

soccer team had their end of year season party.  It was a pool party featuring pizza, soda, and a cake with a soccer ball on top.  My boys were thrilled, of course.  Mostly because of the pool, although they did not snub either the pizza or the cake.  Who would?

A hot day in April around here will start them to asking when can we go swimming.  They firmly believe that any day near 90 degrees is a day to swim.  I can’t say that I blame them.  Any offering of water at home only involves an Ace hardware bucket and water guns.  Probably the second year we lived here, we did join a neighborhood pool. Then a toddler was added, and a baby was born, and the ratio of drowners to swimmers, if I went during the day by myself, was too high and not worth my sanity. Since then, the rest of our summer swimming has occurred solely because of generous friends with pools.

Their merriment last night was completely linked to being at a pool with more than a dozen other boys, all in high swim fashion and spirits for lowering the level of water with splashing, jumping, and various diving board acrobatics.  My two oldest sons, after years of my insane drill swim school rigors, are quite competent in the water.  I am of the “sink or swim and I will throw you in to test it” school of teaching swimming.  I realize that might not set well with some moms, but during my years as a lifeguard I saw more danger with coddling around water than requiring actual technique.

But with my third one, I lost some focus on teaching him to swim.  There’s an excuse somewhere, but I can’t think of it.  Let it go the way of all excuses.  Flush. I got behind the beach ball, and it wasn’t until last year that we made some strokes with his swimming competency.

After almost nine months of not swimming though, I was on my toes in regards to watching his bobbing wet head and making sure that it remained bobbing upright.  I should have painted a neon orange stripe in his hair for easier locating.  I was my own bobbing self, constantly up and down, trying to find him in a veritable sea of swimmers.  He’s a brunette, but so were 98% of the other boys.  Even the blonds looked brunette once soaking wet.

However, all three survived the pool, and I survived the watching of the pool.  Summer for us has officially begun.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2008 1:47 am

    “the ratio of drowners to swimmers” THAT was hilarious!!!!!

  2. June 4, 2008 3:43 am

    I live in the water in the summer (as much as a mom can), so I understand the swimming enthusiasm.

    Pray for those of us who have to watch for the bobbing heads in lake water, which is slightly less clear than the pool. At least my third is still too young to bob.

Leave a Reply

