Skip to content

For about two minutes…

June 3, 2008

yesterday I considered live-blogging (hyphen or one word?) our first day of summer homeschooling.

And then both reality and sanity hit me over the head.  On both sides.

Plus, I read a discussion one time, I think over at Steve Camp’s (Camp On This) about what was liveblogging (let’s try it this way) anyway?  Because if a blogger were truly to live-blog, then the text would resemble more of an instant messaging.  Otherwise, liveblogging as practically used was jotting down notes and then posting them later.

Back to the homeschooling thing.  This is what the day looked like:

5:45 Alarm goes off and miraculously I do not sleep through it.

6:15 Showered, hair dry, and no makeup necessary because really, I am wearing comfy clothes for the first day.

6:30 Prayers for PATIENCE and FOCUS and DILIGENCE are done.  I even have time to lie down for 10 minutes before waking the BOYS.

6:40 Greet the boys with an off key rendition of Rise and Shine.  Grumbling turns to smiles when they realize the humor of Mom singing.  Badly.

7:00 Breakfast and morning devotions with Dad.  I still want to blog about this great book we’re using.

7:30 Boys outside to play while it’s still cool, and Mom inside to study, read, and have her act together.

9:30 Everyone called inside for cleaning up, water break, and attitude checks.  Good.  No need to sing again, they are ready to start.

9:45 Spelling.  This year I changed to the A Reason for Spelling program.  This program is a key example of my philosophy towards homeschooling.  The art of overlap.  Hitting as many subject areas at one time as possible and still teaching key points.  The program has daily work including a story with a moral point, Scripture memory verse, word shape recognition, spelling pretest, vocabulary, independent study, dictation, proofreading, oral discussion, comprehension, journaling, and posttest.  Verdict from the boys: We love it!  Score one for Mom.

10:15 Grammar introduction and oral drill. We’re using Rod and Staff Following the Plan this year for 5th graders, and Shurley English for 2nd grade.

10:45 Latin introduction and oral drill. Using Prima Latina.

11:00 History overview, including reading, discussion, and questions. Using Veritas Press, Explorers to 1815.

11:45 Math.  Two boys in Saxon and one in Singapore Primary.

12:30 Lunch

1:00-3:00 Room time where the boys do their independent reading, about an hour, and Mom does her independent resting.  Can I recommend room time any more strongly?

The above schedule roughly demonstrates our goals for the day.  We tackle Science on Fridays.  Within the day not only did the boys complete their work, but also worked ahead in a couple of subjects because they understood the material.

My second grader has a couple of different subjects than his older brothers, but everything we can work on together, we do.  When the older two are working independently, I teach him the subjects specific to his grade (handwriting, 2nd level grammar, and math).

Yesterday encompassed all the best reasons for why we are homeschooling.  Not every day progresses so smoothly, but even the worst day has not, so far, changed our decision.  Big payoff this morning when I went in with another mangled morning song?  Oldest son said, “Mom, I can’t wait for school to start this morning.”

Thank You, Lord.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2008 7:41 pm

    Sounds like you have a really good homeschooling thing going! I’m impressed, Elle and sons!

  2. June 3, 2008 8:38 pm

    That sounds like a great day! I am in a little bit of awe over how early you rise. I guess it really makes sense to get outside while it’s cool. But oh, how I love my bed. And sleeping late.

    I really love it.

    5:45? Really? I haven’t seen that time since I was a teacher in public school.

    Except to go to the bathroom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

