Skip to content

Go to the meme…

May 22, 2008

when you’re stuck in your head and unable to complete thoughts. I’m pretty sure it was a line cut from The Godfather so they came up with that whole “go to the mattresses” thing.

Whatever.

Anyway, while tooling around in Blogville, I came across this ABC’s of me meme by Barbara H. of Stray Thoughts. Here I am stalking another one.

Accent: Not really, which surprises a lot of people because I was raised mostly in the South and certainly have the Southerners in the lineage to provide the genetic ability to over-syllablesize. My theory is that from ages 1-4 I lived in Florida around geriatric Yankees and Midwesterners so I heard those tones and kept them. Unusual to the mix is that I have an ear for accents and love to crack up Husband by doing impressions of various accents.

Breakfast or no breakfast: Breakfast, usually cereal or an egg plus a HUGE COFFEE

Chore I don’t care for: Cleaning bathrooms. Aim is a goal in our household. (See Kids for explanation).

Dog or Cat: Currently 2 cats, but asking Husband for a puppy. He is currently saying, “No.”

Essential Electronics: The MacBook! and the iPod!

Favorite Cologne: I don’t really wear this anymore, usually just my Bath Junkie personalized body spray lotion. But this question reminded me of my Charlie days. Aaah, the Eighties.

Gold or Silver: Wedding ring is gold, but most of my other jewelry is now silver.

Handbag I carry most often: The lightest one I can right now. Less than 20 pounds is the rule right now around here so I carry nothing but the minimum.

Insomnia: Not usually, but while weaning off those muscle relaxants for my back I had about 3-4 nights of it. I should have spent the time writing the Great American Novel instead of the tossing and turning I did.

Job Title: Sugar Pie Honey Bunch or Mom

Kids: 3 sons with me; 1 son with the Lord

Living Arrangements: Middle Georgia with Husband, 3 sons, 2 cats, in 2-story house for last 7 years.

Most Admirable Trait: Loyalty, to a fault, according to Husband.

Naughtiest Childhood Behavior: Got my sister into trouble all the time.

Overnight hospital stays: Personally 5 times– with childbirth (2 times), bone marrow donor (2 times), and back surgery (hopefully one and only time). With my son James, I was overnight in the hospital with him for close to 2 full years. Literally.

Phobias: Alligators and crocodiles.

Quote: This one has been of great significance lately. “The great thing, if one can, is to stop regarding all the unpleasant things as interruptions of one’s own or real life. The truth is, of course, that what one calls the interruptions are precisely one’s real life – the life God is sending one day by day.” –C. S. Lewis

Reason to smile: God’s sovereignty

Siblings: 1 younger sister. She’s taller too.

Time I wake up: At 5:45 a.m. Except on sleep in Thursday.

Unusual Talent or Skill: Ability to almost photographically remember weird things.  Like what someone was wearing the first time I met them.  Or to read a book and remember where on the page a particular line was written.  The most helpful bit of this talent is the ability to remember names and faces.

Vegetable I Refuse to Eat: Brussel sprouts.

Worst Habit: Picking at my lips. It is my nervous tic.

X-rays: Numerous times.

Yummy Stuff: Skinny Mocha Frappucinos, popcorn, cheesecake.

Zoo Animal I Like Most: Elephants.

Let me know if you play, meme stalkers.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2008 4:15 pm

    This one looks like fun…I think I will have to try it… 🙂

    I love that quote by C.S Lewis! Very timely! (And, as a random tidbit, I also have 1 younger sister who is a good 5 or 6 inches taller than I am!) 🙂

  2. May 23, 2008 12:38 pm

    Hey! I want a sleep-in Thursday! How can I go about getting me one of those?

  3. May 23, 2008 5:14 pm

    GREAT meme! Love the insight into your life and I LOVE that quote by C.S. Lewis! Life is a journey.

  4. May 26, 2008 5:27 pm

    Let me just say that you may think you don’t have a southern drawl, but oh my dear you really do!

    Oh my gro-shur-eez! I have been ou-you-ted by EeeeMmmm! Whatevah shall I do? I shan’t wurr-ee about it today, I weel jist think about it tomorrah.

Leave a Reply

