Skip to content

Aslan does return…

May 16, 2008

may we never forget it!

I just returned from seeing Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian.  The boys and I greatly enjoyed ourselves. As I am neither a book critic nor a movie critic, I can only write as having been an entertained theatergoer.

Yesterday Leslie at Lux Venit posted some various links and reviews of the movie.  I read the one from Plugged In Online which cautioned parents about the many war scenes and battles. This concerned me because my youngest is seven and still quite sensitive in some respects to such scenes.  However, he has seen the Star Wars movies–not the last one–so Husband and I decided that we would allow him to see it, making sure for discussion afterwards.

There are significant battle scenes, lots of constant action, and definitely there is a more pervasive darkness to the movie than in the first–excepting the first movie’s scene where Aslan is killed on the stone table.  That being said, the overwhelming spiritual point of how Aslan and belief in Aslan dispels corruption is not missed and rather well done, to my point of view.

He handled it well, caught the humor of the movie in the characters Trumpkin and Reepicheep, and thrilled to see the good guys win.  Discussion has been fruitful since, and I’m sure will continue.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2008 9:45 pm

    I just got back and blogged about it, too!

    I enjoyed it, over all, but it was a bit relentless, wasn’t it?

    I feel I need to go back and re-read the book now. For some reason, the Narnia books just don’t “stay in my head.” Every time I read them I find myself remembering as I go along, rather than anticipating what is coming. So different from Tolkien.

  2. Ellen permalink
    May 16, 2008 10:14 pm

    Oh I can hardly wait to see Reepicheep and Trumpkin. Glad you had a nice outing…

  3. May 16, 2008 10:19 pm

    Great comments! That is good to know since I, also, have a seven year old! Great blog!

  4. May 17, 2008 2:56 am

    No books have had a greater impact on my faith than the Chronicles of Narnia. I have half a mind to sneak out tonight while my children are sleeping so I can see “Caspian” right now.

    But Corey’s on another business trip, and I hear Child Protective Services frown on that sort of thing.

  5. May 17, 2008 4:28 am

    We enjoyed it, too!! I thought Trumpkin could have used a little more development, but, overall, I liked it. I’m with Kim, though. I started reading the book again as soon as we got home.

  6. May 17, 2008 10:27 pm

    We saw it and loved it as well!

  7. May 17, 2008 11:49 pm

    We liked it, too! In some ways it was quite different from the book, but the changes don’t bother me too much – in fact some of them add to what you said about the spiritual point, in my opinion. I want to see it again, and ditto with the good conversations with the boys afterward. I’m sure that will continue at our house as well.

  8. May 30, 2008 4:00 pm

    We saw the film this holiday weekend and I’m starting the book too! We all loved it. (PinkGirl asked lots of questions DURING the movie and I had to keep telling her to whisper.)

Leave a Reply

