Skip to content

My cat likes to…

May 7, 2008

chase straws.  I have known this for some time, but I don’t usually have too many straws around, making the event of chasing straws non-typical.  Being on bedrest has meant a great deal more straws around.  You know, the ones with the accordion bendy thing so that I can drink while lying down.

Having all of these straws around have made my cat a real whiner and schemer.  (Not that she wasn’t a whiner before–think canned cat food).  Anyway, chasing the straws begins first with stalking the straws.  Even while I’m using the straw.  She’s as content to pounce on my head trying to grab her striped object of affection, as wait for me to take the thing out of my mouth.

Every now and then, in an effort to quell her straw-lust, I rinse one out, twist it into a knot, and toss it for her to chase.  And chase she does.  Followed by fetching it for the closest human to then toss again.  If you refuse to pick up the twisted straw for her game of choice, more whining occurs.

Her straw stalking, chasing, fetching issues are amusing to a point.  But sometimes, it’s only about stopping the whining.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2008 2:31 am

    That’s funny! Our George LOVED, Loved, loved to play with the little plastic rings you pull off the gallon of milk. Hours and hours of fun for George. He especially liked to play with them in the middle of the night.

  2. Ellen permalink
    May 7, 2008 2:22 pm

    Cats, although I’ve never had one of my own, are so amusing. They can really entertain. I love how they put on an air of “I don’t need you humans, really, but I’ll put up with you”
    Blessings…

  3. May 7, 2008 3:55 pm

    I think cats only tolerate humans because we feed them and sometimes give them straws with which to play. Otherwise, they’d kill us all off and rule the world.

  4. May 8, 2008 11:52 am

    Sounds like loads of fun for everyone! 😉

    Our cats always loved the lids to plastic water and soda bottles. Every time we moved, we’d find a treasure trove of them under couches, chairs, and beds. Good times.

  5. May 9, 2008 7:38 pm

    Thanks so much for the new game!

    For our cat, Bob, the fun thing to chase is the ring from a milk jug or other bottle – you know, the part that breaks when you open it for the first time.

Leave a Reply

