Skip to content

Cabin fever is…

May 5, 2008

not terminal. Although a significant side effect for cabin fever occurs once the patient formerly kept within the cabin is allowed out of the cabin.  She might, just might, tend to overdo the whole being out of the cabin thing.  Possibly. Perhaps.

Nah, definitely.

But the reason for being out of the cabin was completely worth it.  This Friday and Saturday were our state homeschool convention.  I knew going into the whole thing that I would not be able to attend everything, but I was pretty determined to accomplish my curriculum shopping list.  Bonus for me this year was that Husband was going to be able to attend, and thus, cart everything around since most homeschool curriculum weighs more than 20 pounds–my current limit.

Plans in place regarding childcare, place to stay, and even what seminars could be attended were all contingent on my Tuesday morning doctor’s appointment.  If you read that update, you know the whole report resounded with, “Woo Hoo!”  That meant with some slight modifications we could still attend, being sure to take it slow, and cut back where necessary.

It was a thrilling success for us in spite of the limitations.  I’m not a veteran homeschooler by anyone’s stretch of imagination, but I am always greatly encouraged to see the variety and numerous quality materials available for home study programs.  The convention not only reminds me of why Husband and I made this choice, but also points out significant advantages available for future years.

One of the seminars we were able to attend was on learning styles.  For years Husband and I have been avid readers of the various personality typing tests–Myers-Briggs and so on.  And some years back before we homeschooled, I read Cynthia Tobias’ books on learning styles.  This speaker was Dana Spears. Her focus was on helping parents identify their child’s learning style and learning mode.  From there she gave instructional tips on purchasing material and creating a learning environment that most benefits the child.

It was one of those seminars where every third sentence or so Husband and I would look at each other and murmur, “That’s _________, for sure.”  I find it truly amazing how God created such wonderful individuals, distinctive in traits, even some very obstinate ones,  but still moldable for His kingdom and still objects of His grace.

I’m looking forward to receiving her material and reading through it for my benefit and that of the boys.  Maybe I’ll even blog some of it.

Anyway, the day was long, and I wasn’t able to complete the day.  My stamina is a long way from normal–or at least what it was before all this started.  However, the essentials were accomplished, maybe even an extra or two was purchased, and a new year of curriculum has been duly organized.

Now I need to sleep for the next 48 hours.  Or as Husband stated it, “You used four weeks of equity all in one day.”  Time to rebuild.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2008 1:49 pm

    I used to say it’s hard to realize you’re overdoing it til you’ve already overdone it. 🙂 Hope you recuperate soon. It sounds like it was a great time.

    We home schooled for 4 years, and it wasn’t until then that I realized one of my sons and I were vastly different in style. I was greatly frustrated until hearing a tape on personality differences — it helped a lot.

  2. May 5, 2008 2:14 pm

    I am going to a fair/convention in a couple of weeks. I have to admit–I am a curriculum junkie! I have my list ready to go–I must have a list or I get too tempted by all the amazing books and cool resources.

    So glad you were able to get out of the “cabin!”

  3. May 5, 2008 11:52 pm

    I’m glad you were able to go and that it was a blessing. I hope you can rest up now.

  4. Ellen permalink
    May 6, 2008 12:34 am

    Well done and I’m glad your hubby recognizes this was a huge expenditure for good and now you need to regain your strength. Blessings…

  5. May 6, 2008 2:33 am

    Hope you were able to rest, recoup and rejoice over your finds. I’m not a homeschooler, but I have many friends who are, so I know the joy of a homeschool conference.

Leave a Reply

