Skip to content

James, part III…

April 28, 2008

Planning for my meeting with the perinatologist was a huge event. I wanted to walk in prepared, having done my research, armed with intelligent questions, and then be able to leave satisfied that this baby and all my plans for children were still perfectly intact.

Husband was active duty military at the time and could not go to the appointment with me, so a couple of girlfriends stepped in with their marshaled resources of estrogen and frozen yogurt treats. One took me to the appointment, and another would pick me up and take me home so I could be blissfully pampered at her house afterwards with a nap until Husband could get me.

So far, so good.

The perinatologist was a huge man. Easily over 6′ 4″ and 200 pounds. He was that gentle giant type of person, his hand swallowing mine in a handshake. He took me into the examining room and the questions began about my entire family tree back to the Mayflower. He was looking for a genetic link regarding my IgA deficiency. Secondly, he was formulating my risk factors for not having The Rhogam injection with this pregnancy, and how that would affect future pregnancies.

Husband and I were planning for 3-5 children, so these statistics were very important to me. At the very least I needed time for additional research and adjustments if necessary. The appointment lasted forever as we discussed every heart attack, stroke, diabetic incident, headache, and bunion anyone remotely related to me had ever had or thought they had. He was very knowledgeable of course, and I learned more than I needed to know about the connections between various diseases.

By appointment’s end though, the results filtered down to this: I could have this baby without The Rhogam injection without any adverse problems. If the baby were my same Rh factor, I could then have a second baby with the same lack of complications. However, if this baby were not my same Rh factor, then the birth itself could sensitize my body to the foreign Rh which could potentially endanger a second pregnancy. As long as I had babies with my Rh factor, every pregnancy was quid pro quo. The first pregnancy that involved different Rh boded problems with exponential difficulties.

My head was swimming with all of the numbers and risks and statistics and weariness that somewhere my perfect train was being detoured if not derailed.

The ride, however, was only just beginning.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2008 8:32 pm

    As I read this series about James, I am continually thankful for the good sovereignty of God and the comfort He gives during unbearable times.

  2. April 30, 2008 5:02 am

    I’m still here. Reading these posts in solitary. Whenever you are ready.

  3. May 3, 2008 1:33 pm

    Oh Elle – the fact that you are able to write about that appointment with such humor and grace is such a blessing to me this morning. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

