Skip to content

Well, let’s see…

April 24, 2008

it’s been a week since Banner Day, and I’ve got things to tell you.

[Crickets chirping]

(I’ve always wanted to blog that.)

All right, truth is, I’ve got nothing, basically. Because while Banner Day was its own Hallmark worthy event, it also revealed that due to a certain obstinacy of character, ahem, a certain surgical back patient ~cough~ chose to not take near the amount of medication that post-surgical restrictions intended.

As a result, the same surgical back patient found herself, while now without back staples and feeling victorious over walking through a grocery store, had to face up to the reality that progress, albeit gradual, was still probably a week behind. And if said patient would take the recommended dosages in more strict adherence, then progress, albeit gradual, might occur more, um, gradually and consistently.

~Sigh~

In this patient’s defense, she was concerned that the three progeny of the household would not witness her sleeping around the clock, which was the unique motive behind almost all the obstinacy regarding taking medication.

And lest anyone not get what I’ve been rambling on about, I am now taking the medication as prescribed and seeing the promised progress–ALBEIT GRADUAL. (That’s not yelling at any readers, that’s yelling at myself.) Husband has defined my attitude as quite “mellow”.

I’m still considering whether it’s a compliment, or not; or a suggestion for future behavior, or not.

Let’s wrap this up, shall we. Here are the front, right side, and left side views of my back brace. Try not to covet, friends. I would have given you a back shot as well, but I’m prohibited from any bending or twisting at the waist–as you can tell by the fashionable hard plastic and velcro straps.

I think it is time for my next dose. The “mellow” is wearing off.

FrontRight sideLeft side

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellen permalink
    April 24, 2008 1:31 am

    Oh girl! Look at you. I so resist medication myself. I hate feeling stupid and a lot of those drugs make me feel just that way. I do continue to pray for your recovery and your peace of mind during the long process of recovery. Blessings on you and yours dear one…

  2. April 24, 2008 1:40 am

    Oh, but it’s such a pretty color. I’m sure the blue compliments your bruises!

    Yea, I know you’re like me, it’s the take 2 tylenol and start walking to recover from surgery method. Sounds like that didn’t work this time around.

    That reminds me, what did you do for anesthesia for this?

    Yes, I remember you after that bone marrow donorship thing–walking the halls like a trooper with Tylenol keeping you upright. I’ve had to accept, begrudgingly, my limitations on this one. As for the anesthesia, I don’t know what they used, but the anesthesiologist was excellent, and made sure I was prepped with anti-nausea meds before and after so I didn’t get those violent dry heaves. Smoothest part, indeed.

  3. April 24, 2008 2:32 am

    endeavor to persevere, my friend!

    You have my prayers!

  4. April 24, 2008 3:49 am

    Praying for your quick, albeit gradual, recovery!

  5. April 24, 2008 4:43 pm

    Remembering you! I am not a good patient, so I empathize!

  6. April 25, 2008 12:56 am

    Be a good girl and follow doctor’s orders! Rest brings healing!

    Ah, yes, the brace. One of my sons wore a torso brace for a few years, so yours looked pretty familiar.

    You’re still in my thoughts and prayers, Elle.

  7. April 25, 2008 1:33 am

    YOU DID IT! You replied to a comment within a comment! Nicely done.

  8. April 25, 2008 4:11 am

    Bless your heart…obstinancy of character does come back to haunt, ahem, certain surgical back patients…and soccer moms of four sons *cough*

    Hang in there my friend. Recovery, albeit gradual, is in fact recovery!

  9. April 25, 2008 12:46 pm

    When it was so quiet after The Banner Day, I wondered if that might have been the case . . . and the reason I wondered is that I would have been the exact same way. The only surgeries I’ve had to recuperate from were my C-births, and I am confident they were a piece of cake compared to what you are enduring.

    Anyway, continuing to pray, sister!

  10. April 27, 2008 6:33 pm

    I know what you mean — I tend to avoid medications, too — just reading the side effects can talk me out of them. but some I have had to go on and take anyway without any major problems. But I still would rather not.

    I hope and pray you have a steady and quick-as-possible recovery!

Leave a Reply

