Skip to content

Banner day alert…

April 16, 2008

because I was allowed out of bed, outside of my house, in a car, driving down the street.  Outside of all those prepositions, I’m still shocked.

Of course, why should I be?  Today was staple removing day.  Hallmark doesn’t have a card for the event, but it stood out to me.  For no longer am I possessor of those metallic pieces which made me feel a bit like a Cyborg, but I also was allowed inside of a grocery store.

Yes, I know.  I have chills too.  I needed to refill some prescriptions, so after Husband took me to the doctor for staple removing fun, we then went to the grocery store pharmacy.  While the pharmacists took their sweet blessed time filling the scripts–and I thank them for it, I was allowed to walk around the grocery store.

Of course, Wednesday is Senior Citizen Discount Day at this particular establishment, and I was on the receiving end of more than one glare for being the slowest walking patron there.  Even the lady with the cane was faster.

But what bliss to walk on Husband’s arm up and down the aisles, even actually stopping to smell the roses in the floral section.  We christened the time a date.  At this point, I’m taking what I can get.  He even upped the romantic ante by buying a Coffee Caramel milkshake for me on the way home.

Update on the back:  Things are progressing as they should.  The swelling I’ve had is normal.  The muscle spasms and knots are normal.  The muscle weakness, tightness, and cramps are all normal.  Normal as the result of abnormal nerve damage from the initial rupture–that will resolve over time.  But hey, let’s focus on the word normal and call things a Banner Day.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2008 7:12 pm

    Whoo Hoo! Congratulations! I can imagine the wonderfulness of the grocery store after being forced to stay home so long!

    After my dad’s triple bypass, I drove him to the mall to walk every afternoon. It was the highlight of his day. I remember. Oh, and the grocery store. Where he would see men he used to work with and they would open their shirts and compare scars right there in produce. Good times.

  2. April 16, 2008 7:38 pm

    Congratulations on a great day!

    I remember the first time I had staples in — it felt so inhuman!! Then when I had staples in after having half my thyroid removed I felt like the bride of Frankenstein. I thought I’d have to wear turtlenecks the rest of my life, but thankfully that scar healed well.

    I’m glad things are progressing. Though I am sorry for all the problems caused by the nerve damage, it’s good to know it’s “normal” and not new damage.

  3. April 16, 2008 8:44 pm

    Hooray! Congratulations!! I know the feeling of excitement over going to the grocery store after surgery and there is nothing like it!

  4. April 16, 2008 9:01 pm

    Sounds like a God Is Bustin’ Out All Over kind of day.

    When you’ve been out of commission for a while, it’s the simple things that mean the most, isn’t it?

  5. April 16, 2008 9:36 pm

    Ah, yes, the simple things in life. So enjoyable when they’ve been withheld for a time. I’m so glad the staples are out and things are progressing normally!

  6. April 17, 2008 12:19 am

    Whoo hoo! Sweet! I’m glad you got to look at the outside world again. I’m glad the staples are out and you are progressing “normally”. God puts you in my mind a lot (maybe every time my back winces) and reminds me to uphold you in prayer dear one…

  7. April 17, 2008 5:30 pm

    Staple free, the grocery store AND a milkshake–a banner day, indeed!

  8. April 17, 2008 10:48 pm

    EXCELLENT! SO HAPPY FOR YOU!

  9. April 18, 2008 11:53 pm

    That IS a banner day, girl!!! Some of my best outings lately have been at the grocery. Funny, that. Anyway, WOO HOO! May the good feelings continue through this weekend. I still think of you and pray for you often at night when I am up . . . hope the sleeping is going better for you.

  10. April 21, 2008 6:23 am

    Congrats on getting the staples out 🙂 I didn’t have a C section, but I’ve had surgery and know all about those staples.

    I would like to help out with Rahab’s Thread. Please contact me if you are open to accepting new contributors.

  11. Ellen permalink
    April 21, 2008 10:27 pm

    Hi Elle!
    Here’s the link to my original post about our 70’s rock band. enjoy….
    http://happywonderer.wordpress.com/2007/05/29/our-70s-rock-band-tour/

Trackbacks

  1. Well, let’s see… « A Complete Thought

Leave a Reply

