Skip to content

I haven’t learned yet…

April 13, 2008

how to respond to comments in the comments section, like right under another’s comment.  I’m sure I can search this out on one of these blogger help things, but really, my priorities right now are pajamas.

(I’m still a bit snarky from yesterday’s tantrums.  However, in my personality, snarky’s closest cousin is humor, and today I’m particularly thankful to be able to laugh again about the circumstances.

Combined with the fact that I followed my blogger friend, Rosemary’s advice and listened to John Piper’s message on Treasuring Christ and the Call to Suffer, and I am sufficiently humbled that I must and will continue to submit to this process.

Anyway, I was going somewhere with this.  Oh yes, another blogger friend, Julie Stiles Mills, made a comment about the “Have you ever…?” Meme that I snatched from blogger friend, Ellen B., regarding these two “Have you ever” statements:

1. Have you ever sang Karaoke?  I answered once, and it’s not my thing.  JSM asked if this was a funny story.  It’s really more a silly one.  This past Christmas, a family member blessed my three sons with a Karaoke machine, against our better advice when consulted beforehand.  But as is the case with some family giftings, an idea becomes firmly implanted in a head and no wiser advice doth prevail.

So, at Christmas, when this monstrosity of a machine, with all its bells and whistles–because it is a top o’ the line Karaoke machine–was unveiled, predictably my three sons collectively said, “What is it?”  In an attempt to salvage family relationships and demonstrate its use, I sang Karaoke for the boys.  You know you’re not a singer when your own children ask you to stop.

The Karaoke machine now resides in the two younger boys’ room and is used for the production of loud sound effects resembling bodily functions.

2. Have you ever done something you told yourself you wouldn’t? I answered, yes, I have a list of nevers that became realities.  JSM commented that this answer made her curious.  I can appreciate that.  Here are some of my nevers that became realities:

I’ll never move around a lot when I’m an adult–I’ve moved over a dozen times in 18 years of marriage.

I’ll never marry anyone in the military–Husband was in the military for the first 5 1/2 years of marriage.

I’ll never get married before finishing college–I attended summer school two summers to finish early so I could get married, then ended up marrying before I’d completed my senior thesis which I mailed back to school since I was in Korea with Husband on his first major deployment.

I’ll never have children–I have two birth children and two adopted children.  In attempts to have more children, I’ve had two failed adoptions and one failed IVF procedure.

I’ll never teach–I homeschool and teach a ladies’ Bible study.

I think you get the picture.

To sum up this whole post, I have particularly come to appreciate the sweet blogging community that has been such a mainstay to me during this season of bedrest. Last night I made a comment to Husband about my blogging friend such and such.  He stopped me and asked, “Yes, but have you actually met her?”  In this case I have and said so, but it highlighted the fact of how many of you I haven’t actually met in person.

Nevertheless, I appreciate the time you take to meet me here at this blog, to read and comment.  I enjoy meeting you at your blogs as well. While the internet has made the world smaller in one sense, for me, it has also made the world larger.  I thank you.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2008 4:48 pm

    To comment on a comment, pull up the comment under your administration site and you’ll see the word ‘moderate.’ Click that; you can then add your comment under theirs. That’s how I figured out to do it anyway. There might be a better method that someone can tell you about. (I kind of feel like a smarty pants actually being able to tell somebody how to do something technical!)

    Snarky. I know exactly how that feels.

    I’m listening to Piper’s sermon again today, just to absorb more of it. It definitely takes me down a few necessary notches.

    Still praying for you!
    Rosemary

  2. April 13, 2008 7:50 pm

    I’m even lazier than rosemary.

    I view the comments of a post when I’m logged into WordPress. Next to each comment is the name of the person who commented, the date of the comment and the word “edit.” I wrote a little post on it, with a screen shot, at Pragmatic Compendium.

    Your template may not show that, but many of the WordPress templates do.

  3. Ellen permalink
    April 13, 2008 8:25 pm

    Well I think I kind of do what JSM does. I click on the edit option on the comment and then it takes me to an edit page with the comment there. Below the origianal comment I’ll put my reply and then I’ll italicize my reply so it is different looking from the original comment. sheesh I hope that made sense…

    I’m still praying for you and Kim!

    Blessings.

  4. April 15, 2008 1:09 pm

    I too have several “I’ll never…”s that I end up doing, particularly in regard to a snap judgment made about another’s parenting skills!

  5. April 15, 2008 1:34 pm

    Oh my. Yes, my “I’ll nevers” serve only as a jumping off point for the Lord and His Plans for my life.

    And I appreciate the time you take to write up amazing, thought-provoking, challenging, and inspiring posts – bedrest or no. There is always depth to be found in your complete thoughts!

  6. April 17, 2008 1:47 am

    Remind Husband that some of those well met via face to face, can later become internet friends and vice versa as we’ve seen demonstrated more than once over these many years.

  7. April 30, 2008 1:05 pm

    I know I am waaaaaay late on this post but I am actually trying to catch up; not being able to read your Post for a while. I just wanted to tell you that I appreciate your postings and that I will continue to pray for you and your family. Well,… I better get back to reading. God Bless. Linda

  8. Deann permalink
    May 8, 2008 6:51 am

    I just found your blog and I am really enjoying it. I had to share my biggest “I’ll never” story. While looking at locations for my wedding recception my mil shared with me that while growing up across teh street from my fil she frequently said she would never marry a man like him. She shared this after I blurted out that when I first met her son, my future husband, that my first thought was I would never marry a man with a name like him. Classy huh. Luckily my mil is a fabulous woman and had never held that against me – at least not that I know of… Hope your healing comtinues to progress.

Trackbacks

  1. responding to a comment within a comment « Pragmatic Compendium

Leave a Reply

