Skip to content

The amazing power…

April 9, 2008

of a nap should never be underestimated.  Considering that currently all positions are slightly uncomfortable in one sense or another, my sleep, R.E.M. or otherwise, has been greatly interrupted.  In fact, over the last 10 days, I’ve had one night of consistent sleep right at 5 hours.  Every other night has been snatches sleep.

You know, a snatch of two hours here, one and a half there, and then maybe another two hours before alarms and daybreak start occurring.  If I were a nursing mom, I’d call this perfectly normal; but those days are so long past that my body does not remember the coping mechanisms of being able to quickly fall back to sleep.

In those hours between sleeping, God still gives sweet rest to my spirit by bringing names of friends and family to mind with particular needs for prayer.  He prompts me as to His word, providing ways to pray.  He reminds me of His provision, and comforts me by the power of His Spirit. It’s like a powerful nap for my mind from the daily distractions and disturbances that actual lack of sleep makes me ill equipped to handle during the waking hours.

As I started out though, to sing the praises of a nap’s restorative values, even these have been in short form recently.  Yesterday though, in the very midst of all things active in this house between my three sons, Husband, my Mom and Dad, I fell blessedly asleep on the couch for three solid hours.  When I awoke, it was like magic elixir to me both mentally and physically. It was the nap for my body from the current discomfort and disturbances that actual lack of sleep had made me ill equipped to handle during all hours.

How very thankful I am for naps.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2008 3:30 am

    I’m thanking God right now that I can identify with my dear sweet friend Elle in a very little way because of my back spasms. I’m praying for you with a little more understanding of how dibilitating these back issues are. Blessings on you…

  2. April 9, 2008 6:46 am

    I’m so glad you’ve had some restful sleep, Elle. I know how difficult that can be when one’s back has been through a stapler!

    You continue to be in my prayers, daily. May God grant you deep rest and an abiding sense of His presence.

  3. April 9, 2008 3:55 pm

    Naps are bliss.

  4. April 13, 2008 12:27 am

    Here’s a little lullaby we used to sing to the kids in a round:

    The Lord is my Shepard, I’ll walk with Him always,
    He knows me and He loves me, I’ll walk with Him always. Always, always, I’ll walk with Him always.
    Always, always, I’ll walk with Him always.
    The Lord is my Shepard, I’ll walk with Him always.

    I’m praying you have sweet dreams, cause dreams mean a full sleep cycle.

Leave a Reply

