Skip to content

Not only does…

April 7, 2008

our bathroom have his and hers sinks, but more importantly Husband and I practice his and hers soap. In fact, Husband specifically refers to my soap as “Girl Soap”. Likewise, his soap is called “Guy Soap”. It’s all about the details.

Over the last few years I’ve truly indulged in the wide array of girl soap options. It seemed like I tried every sort of body wash until I realized that I don’t like those body puffs. Nor am I fond of smelling like coconut mango papaya juice.

Then I started with the Dove and the Caress and even dallied a bit with the Cocoa Butter bars, but an epiphany occurred where I discovered homemade soaps featuring essential oils and fragrances. I love these rough cut bars full of lavender, jasmine, lemongrass, and skin softening calendula oil. I am willing to buy generic of other things to pay the extra for homemade soaps. My current supplier is a vendor on Etsy called Sisters’ Simple Soap.

Anyway, the most difficult of my post surgical instructions has been to wait 5 days before taking a shower. Yick!  My back is all stickiness and goo.  My hair is plastered to my head in its own concoction of essentail oils.  And my legs are beginning to look like  Jason Castro’s head.

So yesterday afternoon, with utmost tenderness, Husband gently peeled off the stickiness and gently cleaned the goo since I couldn’t take a shower yet with my luxurious girl soap.  He informed me that I have 15 staples in my back, and the tape had made some places raw, but all in all, I’m holding together.  I’m so grateful for Husband’s care and attention to doing all he could to help me feel a bit more human, and so a bit more like a girl.

Updated to add: I meant to post this yesterday, but it did not happen.  But this morning was the Day of the Shower.  No girl soap ever felt sooooo goood!  And I got to wash my hair too.  It’s not styled, but man, it is clean.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellen permalink
    April 7, 2008 1:54 pm

    Yippee! I’m glad you had this most wonderful experience 🙂

  2. April 7, 2008 3:35 pm

    Oh that shower must have been a little taste of heaven.

    When I was a teenagaer, our youth group would go camping each August in the Canadian wilderness. We bathed in lakes, so we could wash off some of the grime. But that first hot shower when we got back home? It was paradise.

    As is the first shower after you’ve given birth. Ahhhh…..

  3. April 7, 2008 6:32 pm

    Wonderful!

    By the way, my sons have “man soap” that they use in the shower. My mother-in-law thought if we bought this for them that they would be a little more interested in bathing. It’s been a struggle. It’s so funny to hear a 7 year old talk about “man soap” in a very serious voice, as in, “Mom, we are out of man soap. Will you please buy us some more?”

  4. Jill permalink
    April 8, 2008 2:20 am

    That first shower post-op is nigh unto heaven on earth. 🙂

    And Rebekah – my son likes his “manly soap” in the shower too. Gotta smell manly, and my vanilla and jasmine goop just doesn’t cut it for the manly crowd!

  5. April 8, 2008 1:41 pm

    Nothing like a shower to make you feel more human. I’m praying for your every day dear Friend. And, I’m so proud of you for hanging tough.

  6. April 8, 2008 3:27 pm

    Bwaaahhhaaaaaa! Jason Castro’s head! Girl, you crack me up.

    I’ve been heard to say, “I’ve either got to shave ’em or braid ’em.”

  7. April 8, 2008 9:10 pm

    Oh, I know that feeling of first shower after surgery and it is sweet! So glad you are up to that stage of recovery, Elle.

  8. April 10, 2008 2:40 am

    Oh glory! What a day.

    I LOVE homemade soap, too. Someday (oh, sweet someday) I am gonna learn how to make my own.

    Sounds like a wonderful day and a FABULOUS hubby, all in all . . .

Leave a Reply

