Skip to content

I have never written…

March 27, 2008

a Thursday Thirteen post before, but Leslie at Lux Venit wrote one for today that has really motivated me. She wrote 13 of Jesus’ hard teachings, all from the gospel according to Matthew. Since I’m studying through Matthew this year, this list was particularly significant as I’ve wrestled with all of them. I wrote in her comments that I would do a Thursday Thirteen on Jesus’ promises and encouragements, also all from Matthew. And please take lesson from Leslie’s admonition that there are certainly more than 13, but here are the 13 that have been of particular encouragement to me this year in my study.

1. Come, follow me, and I will make you fishers of men. 4:19

2. Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them. 5:17

3. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 6:33

4. Therefore everyone who hears these words of mine and puts them into practice is like a wise man who built his house on the rock. 7:24

5. But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners. 9:13

6. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. 10:39

7. Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn form me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light. 11:28-30

8. Take courage! It is I. Don’t be afraid. 14:27

9. With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible. 19:26

10. And everyone who has left houses or brothers or sisters or father or mother or children or fields for my sake will receive a hundred times as much and will inherit eternal life. 19:29

11. He is not the God of the dead but of the living. 22:32

12. This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. 26:28

13. All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age. 28:18-20

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2008 3:04 pm

    That’s the best Thursday Thirteen I’ve ever read! Now I’ll go check out Leslie’s, which will undoubtedly make it a true Dynamic Duo.

  2. March 27, 2008 3:07 pm

    PS–I think it’s a hoot that your Snap Shots thing lists: tsp, maple syrup, sweet potatoes, sugar cookies, rosemary, and roundup in relation to my blog.

    You’d think I like to eat, or something.

  3. March 27, 2008 4:13 pm

    It is so encouraging to read all of these together!!

  4. March 27, 2008 9:26 pm

    Oh man, Leslie stole my comment: I loved BOTH these posts together! Or wait, maybe she liked reading all the promises together? Either way, together, it is GOOD!

  5. April 1, 2008 3:26 pm

    Thank you for this reminder to cling to His promises! I always loved the movie Pollyanna and her challenge to the pastor to focus a bit on the joyful passages in the Bible.

Leave a Reply

