Skip to content

And now an update…

March 19, 2008

on things here at A Complete Thought household.

Chess–has an upcoming fencing tournament this weekend. I still find amusement in people’s reactions when they hear that Chess fences. Here in the South, it is not the most common sport. The most common question however is, “How did he get into fencing?” The answer is that he has always loved swords, and he taught himself to play chess when he was 7 years old. Fencing is called physical chess. Some long term google searching led to finding a local club that offered even more local classes. And voila! Chess became a fencer at the age of 8. Almost three years later, we still as a family enjoy the sport, and as a mom, I’m thrilled at how the discipline and practice have matured him in many areas.

Pele–has an upcoming soccer game this weekend. He is on a travel team, but fortunately, this weekend’s game is at home. The first year we participated in travel soccer, I was not prepared for how much dedication and time it would take. And while making the practices and all the games has never been particularly easy, my favorite part of the sport, other than the actual sport itself, is being together as a family and delighting in Pele’s natural gifts. That and a trip to Dairy Queen afterwards is certainly a highlight event.

The Chairman–has an upcoming soccer game this weekend. (Have you noticed the repeated phrase of these updates?) He is playing on a recreational team, and thoroughly enjoys it. His game and Pele’s are separated by 2 fields and 30 minutes so Mom and Dad will be doing the binocularizing thing to watch both boys. The Chairman has done really well so far, which has garnered the notice of other parents. When asked, I tell them that he’s been playing “against” his two older brothers for over 6 years, he believes himself invincible, of course.

The Husband–he drank the cold coffee that I put in the fridge the other day, in the hopes of making a mocha frappucino. He thought it was tea. I only blogged that so when he reads my blog, he’ll know I was thinking about him. He brought home this interesting leadership quiz for me to fill out about him. Later we compared answers. I remain humbled at how this girl, who didn’t even want to get married, was handed this husband by an incredible and gracious God; and that he humbly and persistently gives Biblical leadership its rightful place in our home. I’m very thankful for him. That and he’s realized he shouldn’t drink the cold coffee I’m saving in the fridge for my mocha frappucinos.

Elle–this would be me. I’m still living in the limbo land of ruptured discs. Tomorrow marks four weeks since the first caudal epidural block. Conservative therapy suggests at least 6 weeks from a block to evaluate improvement, or not. I am allowed to be up and doing as I’m able. Which translates into being up and doing until around 2 or 3 p.m. when I choose to lie down so that I do not fall over. Some areas have greatly improved while others remain a persistent pain. Depending on which day you ask, I either think surgery is inevitable, or not. It is what it is, for now.

That brings things to a complete thought.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2008 9:54 pm

    I love all of your posting, Elle. I especially love little peeks at your family life like this one. Sounds like spring craziness has begun!

    I’m glad to hear you are able to get up and about for at least some part of the day. Keep us posted.

  2. March 20, 2008 1:25 am

    So glad you posted an update. I was about to email you and ask how you’re doing.

    I well know the necessity of the afternoon lie-down to alleviate pain. I pray that you won’t have to ultimately have surgery…

    Take care, Elle. How good God is.

  3. March 20, 2008 2:11 am

    Thanks for the update. I continue to pray that surgery will not become necessary for you.

  4. March 20, 2008 2:48 am

    I hope and pray you’ll continue to progress.

    Sounds like a busy weekend! I’m glad you’re able to attend the games.

    Thanks so much for your kind words today! 🙂

  5. March 20, 2008 4:43 am

    I’ve been missing your posts, but I wasn’t too worried since you were dropping by every now and then. I’m SO glad you’re not on complete bed rest anymore! Still praying.

  6. Ellen permalink
    March 20, 2008 2:33 pm

    Thanks for the update Elle, I do hope and pray that things will go well with your discs! Oh how I miss those soccer watching days. A very Happy Blessed Easter to you all…

  7. March 24, 2008 3:53 pm

    Love little peeks into everyday life–it is the simple everyday that truly defines us. Pray that you will have your “disc situation” resolved quickly–I am not a very good sick or injured patient, so I feel for you!

    How neat that your son fences! My son enjoys chess, as well.

Leave a Reply

