Skip to content

I’m in the process…

March 2, 2008

of trying to organize quotes that I come across that I want to remember, or that inspire and motivate godly pursuit. Kim over at Hiraeth has a weekly quote, and Rosemary at Seasonings of the Heart pretty regularly shares excellent quotes from theologians and scholars. I was jotting these things down on scraps of paper and putting them into my Bible or on my desk. It became too much. Now, I’m taking the copy/paste approach and trying to keep these quotes in a Word document entitled, “Things to Remember”.

I’m welcoming suggestions on how some of you keep up with special quotes. Do you keep them in a notebook or computer file or on scraps of paper like the ones papering my desk?

And while you’re thinking about how to direct me on how to organize these quotes, here are a couple that I found particularly thoughtful.

Knowing God is marked by a meekness and humility, by a growing obedience to God, by a sensitivity to sin, by a hunger for His Word. J. I. Packer

If God will not be glorified by us, He will be glorified upon us. Matthew Henry

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2008 11:30 pm

    I keep mine in my Palm memos. I started out years ago with notebooks, then switched to a Word Document and finally moved everything over to my Palm.

    I think that Evernote would be a great place for you to store your quotes. I tried it for a while and it was great; if you find a quote you like on the internet you can include the URL. I gave it up, though, because most of my quotes come from books I’m reading and besides, I’ve used the other system so long that I decided I’d keep all mine in the same place.

    If you decide to use Evernote, you can set up folders and sort them, like I do.

  2. March 5, 2008 3:48 am

    Thanks for the link, Elle. Glad you like my quotes. I love collecting them, re-visiting them, and sharing them. I learn so much from the wisdom of others.

    However. I have to admit that I find them all over the place. When I read something, I jot it down. On whatever’s handy. I am getting better about putting it in my Quotes file on my computer, but I don’t whip out the computer when I’m reading.

    Sorry. I have too many years behind me to be techy, and I tend to do things the old fashioned way. Like bits and scraps and if I’m really organized, in my notebook. But I’m so glad you’re starting a collection of quotes.

Leave a Reply

