Skip to content

The second epidural…

February 29, 2008

is under my belt. Literally.

The second one is a bit more difficult than the first. Something to do with the amount of steroid being put into a small space in your spine on top of the same steroid from the week before into that same very small space; and the steroid that is still there, because it may or may not have completely dispersed, which apparently, and I can testify to this now, really, really, really irritates the nerves in your back, and around your tailbone, and throughout your lower back.

It’s kind of like sitting on a can of lighted sterno.

While singing “Burn, Baby, Burn.”

Without a disco inferno.

Because you can’t dance right now.

Anyway, I wasn’t quite prepared for that. But I am extremely hopeful that all of this will demonstrate itself to be effective so that we can avoid the more invasive procedures which could feel like 30 cans of lighted sterno. And still no dancing.

I’ll take this one, thank you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2008 3:42 am

    I hate to be ignorant, but I have no idea what sterno is.

    But it doesn’t sound good.

    Sorry. And I hope it does work!

  2. March 2, 2008 7:36 pm

    Oh, I do hope this does its job and another isn’t necessary. I’ve been praying for you, sometimes in the middle of night.

    While reading your posts during this ‘ordeal of the back,’ I’ve been impressed with the congruity of your circumstance and the tagline of your blog, “Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”
    God is faithfully, stunningly at work.

  3. March 5, 2008 12:32 am

    Prayin for you.

Leave a Reply

