Skip to content

A diagnosis has…

February 21, 2008

been given. The MRI showed the ugly news that my last disc, L4 S1, has decided to quit its given work of being a vertebral cushion. Maybe its seeking a greater benefits package or something. However, I’m of the mind that it has taken an entirely negative approach to negotiations.

So they, the doctor types, call this sort of thing degenerative disc disease or DDD. I’m so very thankful for the acronym since many of you know this is my preferred method of speaking/writing, and I’m not even a texter. The name is a bit misleading because it almost implies some sort of progressive, or actually regressive….no, that would be a progressive regressive process (also called degenerative) that would continue without check. Fortunately it does not mean this.

This disc decided to quit, according to the MRI. But also according to the MRI, my other discs are doing their job well. There will be a bonus in their Christmas package.

The focus however continues to be on the problem disc. A squeaky wheel may get the oil, but a degenerative disc receives a caudal epidural. And if that doesn’t work, well then, Mr. DDD, it will get a bit more involved for you.

In the meantime, consider this public blog post my final offer.

Thanks to everyone for their encouragement and prayers. Since my bedrest became modified, meaning I’m allowed to return to some activities as long as bedrest is the bookend method, I’ve been more energized mentally.  The question of why God has allowed this isn’t nearly as loud as the answers of His faithfulness to sanctify His child to His glory and for my good sovereignly using any and all circumstances to display His glory, power, and word.

That’s where I’m resting.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2008 2:03 pm

    I read it twice; three times. You’re closing down your blog? Permanently? Is that what final offer means?

    If that is true, I shall miss you!

    I do hope that you will keep in touch via email. Let me know when you have your epidural.

    K

  2. February 21, 2008 2:58 pm

    Oh no, Kim. I was talking to my disc as a final offer before it receives a bigger dose of medical intervention. I intend to keep blogging. Thanks for asking. The epidural is today.

  3. February 21, 2008 3:08 pm

    Sometimes it’s just a relief knowing what is causing the pain. I’m glad you know and that there are steps you can take to alleviate the pain.

    I just finished reading A Steadfast Heart by Elyse Fitzpatrick, and she shares the importance of doing exactly what you’re doing: trusting God’s faithfulness and goodness over your life no matter what happens.

  4. February 21, 2008 3:22 pm

    Oh! What a relief!

    : D

    Praying now!

  5. Ellen permalink
    February 21, 2008 3:47 pm

    Hope all goes well with the epidural Elle! You are in my prayers…

  6. February 21, 2008 4:31 pm

    Too bad you can’t just downsize that pesky disk! But you need him to come off his strike and get back to work.

    The epidural doesn’t sound like a pleasant experience, but I hope it brings you relief.

  7. February 21, 2008 7:49 pm

    As Leslie said, sometimes there is a relief in just having a name to put on it. I am praying all goes well with the epidural treatment today. I feel like a total heel complaining about our little (temporary) illness in the midst of what you have been weathering for weeks now.

    Thanks for consistently turning our collective eyes back to Christ and His Glory.

  8. February 21, 2008 10:56 pm

    Maybe your last disc is French?

    Prayers for your epidural tomorrow, Elle. I sure enjoyed the last one I had. Hope yours produces equally beautiful results.

  9. February 22, 2008 7:55 am

    You (and your disc) are in my prayers.

  10. February 22, 2008 2:10 pm

    Hope all went well yesterday!

    Thinking of you this morning and praying!

    K

  11. February 22, 2008 2:41 pm

    You lost me there on that second paragraph. Perhaps a few weeks of bedrest and I would be right there with you mentally? 🙂
    I surely hope the epidural works and you are back on your feet even more really soon!

  12. February 22, 2008 10:11 pm

    I too was confused on the final offer…and I too am relieved that it refers to the disk, that pesky thing! May God grant you strength and recovery! Thank you for sharing the truths gleaned from your suffering…

  13. February 25, 2008 4:06 pm

    Praying for strength and comfort during this time. It is a privilege to “share” your suffering through prayer, as part of the body of Christ. You are a blessing to many!

Trackbacks

  1. Hellooooooo? « Rahab’s Thread

Leave a Reply

