Skip to content

In trying to paint…

February 8, 2008

the sunny side of life, while on bedrest, I mistakenly thought that extra blogging would be a luxury of my days right now. Amazing how even while confined to the prone position, life continues on in the giving and receiving of instructions about meals, laundry, housecleaning, errands, and of course, homeschooling. Grammar can be taught while lying down. I had never thought about it prior.

So while many things to be blogged are swirling around, the time to write without interruption is still a challenge. Therefore, an especially big thanks to Julie at Pragmatic Compendium for tagging me on the 4 Things About Me meme. I haven’t done one of these in a long time, and introspection is a side effect of restricted physical activity.

4 Jobs I’ve Had:

1) Filing clerk for an insurance agency–I can alphabetize in my sleep, if that’s ever a necessary skill.
2) Traveling pianist for military post–I would get up early on Sunday and go play at various chapels, some with choirs, and then return home in time to attend my own church.
3) Worked at a Mom & Pop’s sporting goods store–I sold all types of live bait, lures, and tackle. That meant handling worms, crickets, and minnows. I learned everything from fletching arrows for the archery department to entering inventory data when Mom & Pop upgraded to a computer system.
4) Saturday night disc jockey at a Christian radio station–I won a DJ of the day contest, and was then offered a job after my guest stint.

4 Movies Watched Over & Over

1) The Incredibles–I adore this movie for so many reasons: the parents are the heroes, the children grow in maturity & right relationship to one another, the humor is spot on funny. Our family quotes several lines from this movie in general conversation.
2) The Chronicles of Narnia–Every time I see this, I catch a new twist of allegory.
3) Star Wars–My sons are fanatics, and I find myself pulled in as well.
4) The Matrix–I’m a closet sci-fi fan. I do not do the costumes or conventions.

4 Places I’ve Lived:

1) Carlsbad, New Mexico
2) Pyongtaek, South Korea
3) Anderson, South Carolina
4) Knoxville, Tennessee

4 Shows I Watch:

1) Bones
2) Law & Order, CI
3) Life
4) Pushing Daisies

4 Places I Have Been:

1) Cartagena, Colombia
2) Colorado Springs, Colorado
3) Marco Island, Florida
4) Paducah, Kentucky

4 People Who Email Me Regularly:

1) The Fencing Coach
2) The Soccer Team Manager
3) Bible Study contacts
4) Church contacts

4 Favorite Things to Eat:

1) Baked potatoes
2) Thin crust Margherita pizza
3) Orville Redenbacher Butter Light Popcorn
4) Fried shrimp

4 Places I Would Rather Be:

1) On retreat this weekend with my Bible study group–I’ve waited 4 years to go, and this bedrest means I can’t attend.
2) Colorado Springs, Colorado
3) The Mountains
4) At a quaint Bed & Breakfast with Husband, followed by a day of antique-ing.

4 Things I Look Forward to This Year:

1) Getting off of bedrest with a recovered back
2) Blogging
3) Teaching
4) Using my new KitchenAid Artisan mixer

If you’ve a penchant for things in fours, leave me a comment and I’ll come to read yours.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2008 8:41 pm

    Thanks for joining in!

    For some reason, my daughter wanted to watch The Incredibles 5 times last weekend (while playing Barbies/Webkinz). I love Pixar movies.

    Sorry about the retreat. 😦

  2. February 9, 2008 12:20 am

    Wow, you’ve done lots in interesting things and lived in interesting places.

    OK, closet sci-fi fan, did you cry when Obi Wan delivered Luke to Beru and Owen at the end of Episode III?

  3. February 9, 2008 2:45 pm

    Oh, I love the Incredibles! Definitely one of my favorites that I neglected to list on my 4×4 post.

    I echo Leslie: an interesting life!

  4. February 10, 2008 7:49 pm

    Loved your four movies. Those would definitely be in my Top 10.

    And you’ll have to tell us more about your days as a DJ at some point. I hung out at a Christian radio station when I was a teenager; one of our youth group leaders was an on-air person, and she let me do a bunch of things when she was working. I bet you have a few stories to tell there.

    (When are you off bed-rest, again? I feel so bad that you’re having to miss the retreat. I know your hope is in God and what He has for you by saying “no” to this looked-forward-to trip. But I know your heart is disappointed, to say the least.)

Leave a Reply

