Skip to content

Today I realized…

January 22, 2008

that no Blogging Fairy was going to swoop in and write these posts.  Just as I’ve learned that neither does her sister, Laundry Fairy, do the laundry, or their cousin, Family Meals Fairy, cook the dinners.  Knowledge is power.

My second realization was that a status report, sort of State of the Family, is pertinent to my blogging goals and yet skirts the whole political blog aspect that would cause my eyes to crack and bleed.  Here goes:

Elle: still here.  Still doing a Bible study on Matthew.  Still loves coffee and chocolate.  Still homeschooling, which is why the coffee and chocolate are integral to being present.  Still hoping for a 2008 trip to the mountains.

Husband: also still here.  Still supporting me on the whole studying thing.  Still loves coffee.  Still working hard to provide for his family.  Still helping with homeschooling, especially the math.  There was a general “aaaargh!” the other day when I realized that although I ordered Chess’ new math book, I had forgotten to order the answer key.  Sheepishly, I have handed all of it over to Husband who informed me that the time is fast approaching when the answer key will be indispensable.

Where was I?  Yes, Husband still lovable and sporting the wonderful winter beard that I so love him having.

Chess: still the oldest, and for now, the tallest.  Still a strategic analyst of virtually everything.  As he ponders the pros and cons of obedience, gratefully Mom and Dad are seeing fruits of repentance and a heart’s desire to serve the Lord.  Still tender towards Mom, still adoring of his Dad.  Still can completely crack us up with his spot on impression of Shaggy’s walk.  Think Scooby-Doo.

Pele: still the middle child, and therefore, carries the penchant to both have all and have none of the attention.  Self-conscious, but clever.  Humorous, but distracted.  His artistic skills have branched into creating and drawing comics modeled on the Calvin and Hobbes figure.  Still finding his place in confidence and understanding, all thanks be to God as he grows in the grace he’s been given.  Still the curly-headed elf of extraordinary height in disposition and grin.

The Chairman: still nicknamed thus, because age doesn’t matter when you’re in charge.  Finally lost that tooth, and it was before lunch.  Newly latched on to The Boxcar Children mysteries like a feline on catnip.  He takes determination to a new, and cute, level in this house. Still impish when it comes to mischief, still giggles when I tickle him, and still gives reminder of how fully God answers prayers.

Still.  There is sweet peace as I think on these gifts of grace the Father has given.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2008 2:02 am

    There is such peace when I focus on the blessings. Sometimes, there is nothing in the entire world better than lightly running my fingertips across my 7 year old daughter’s forehead until she falls asleep. Except maybe sitting in my 12 year old son’s room reading a devotion with him – because he wants to. This time is so precious. It is a gift. Thank you for this post.

  2. January 23, 2008 4:26 am

    Sorry there’s no Blogging Fairy.

    But so grateful we have a Father who plants thankfulness in our hearts.

  3. Ellen permalink
    January 23, 2008 3:32 pm

    Ha! I enjoyed this Elle!! Blessings.

  4. January 23, 2008 4:07 pm

    I so enjoy your creative posting.

  5. January 24, 2008 2:24 pm

    I loved this post! I see characteristics of my boys mirrored in the descriptions of yours. And you know I’m all over the coffee and chocolate! Should you ever contact that Laundry fairy and Family meals fairy and their cousin the Housecleaning fairy, please let them know their work has been remiss at our house as well!

  6. January 26, 2008 4:06 pm

    Awwwwww, Elle! I loved this glimpse into your family. I feel like I know you ALL so much better now.

    Where IS that Laundry Fairy, anyway? Permanently on strike, I suppose.

    And if we woke up tomorrow and all the chocolate and all the coffee was forever gone from the earth . . . well, I am not entirely sure how I would go on.

Leave a Reply

