Skip to content

Some people choose to…

December 22, 2007

bungee jump for their risky behavior.  I, on the other hand, chose a riskier action for today.  I went with my three sons into the heart of shopping before Christmas heyday.  There were cars, there were people, there was action and energy all over the place.  Really quite adrenaline inducing.

The goals were simple: buy some cat food, let Chess finally use his Target gift card (from his July birthday), find an iPod case, and buy an electric pencil sharpener.  See, very simple.   So simple in fact that it only involved 5 different stores (visiting one of them twice),  5 salespeople for assistance, 69 questions from the boys, 4 cash register lines, 8 waiting to get into traffic lines, 22 stoplights, and 3 1/2 hours from arrival to departure.

All in all, made a little ol’ bungee jump look kind of tame.  There’s always 2008 for that kind of thing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2007 2:15 pm

    One of my favorite local bloggers (who also also blogs for the Minneapolis paper) spent yesterday at the Mall of America, live-blogging the frenzy of last-minute Christmas shopping.

    Before he left, he said: “If you don’t hear from me the rest of today, assume I was consumed whole by the hoards, ground down into a thin bone-flecked paste by the surging crowds desperate to find the right last-minute gift.”

    Yep, that pretty much covers it.

    I’m thankful you made it out alive.

  2. December 22, 2007 2:20 pm

    LOL! I’m hoping to avoid every store but the grocery store between now and Christmas — I turn into a basket case when it’s crowded and busy out there. I would have my Christmas ham except there’s no room in the freezer so I need to get it when I can just put it in the fridge.

  3. December 23, 2007 11:23 pm

    MERRY CHRISTMAS, Elle!

  4. December 28, 2007 2:01 pm

    Sounds quite familiar…actually we experienced much of the same in the post Christmas rush at Wal Mart yesterday!

Leave a Reply

