Skip to content

My heart is currently quite…

December 13, 2007

full to go with my head that is quite clogged, leading to blog posts unblogged for not forming themselves into complete thoughts. If I rename the blog Incomplete Thoughts and Notions, then I’d have a real post.

So here’s a smattering of incomplete thoughts and notions:

We have a Charlie Brown Christmas tree this year, for certain. It’s a 3 foot artificial tree on its last artificial needles, more than slightly tilted as it sits in a $1 yard sale stand reinforced with scrap blocks of wood. The tree itself was a $5 yard sale find that my parents used at their beach house for a few years. The tree then found itself host to “illegal” lights in the hospital in 1994 for James’ first Christmas. His second, and last, Christmas also saw this tree as well, in the hospital again. The tree will have to literally fall apart before I’m willing to get rid of it.

We’re still sweating the 80 degree heat while our Midwest friends are practically encased in ice. When I lived in Missouri in the early 90’s, I lived through one of those legendary ice storms. I woke up one morning to see every tree look as though it had been individually frozen and then placed back into the ground. It was an amazing sight to watch the sun shine through that ice. That day we packed up and crashed at a friend’s house to make jambalaya and sled on cardboard down their backyard hill.

I’m within 3 purchases of being done with Christmas presents. Nothing at all is wrapped, except for the four presents purchased the other day that the store wrapped for free. I am a procrastinator of the greatest degree when it comes to wrapping, because I am so very terrible at it. Gift bags were the greatest invention for me; however, my wrapping challenges apparently have mutated into some issues with bags as well. I seem to unerringly put the gift into the wrong size bag, accidentally tearing the tissue paper which never rightly camouflages the gift, and with unChristmaslike spirit, I yank the thing out to try again. I am not ashamed to patch and piece in my gift wrapping. I’ve convinced myself over the years that it’s the nouveau thing to add distinctive character to the gifts I give. Christmas is full of delusions. That’s my main one.

Last thought–because the exercise of taking this picture, figuring out how to upload it, edit it, insert it, et cetera, et cetera has completely derailed me, but oh my grits, this is the first picture ever that I have put on my blog–so good night.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 13, 2007 4:35 am

    Let it be said that I took notice of your very first ever posted picture!

    And when I read of the significance of your Charlie Brown tree, it made it particularly sweet. The memory of James, the tree in his hospital room, his Christmas, then the last Christmas….
    I do understand why it remains precious.

    You chose a really nice picture to be the first one posted!

  2. December 13, 2007 10:24 am

    I have a very kind husband who is expert at wrapping presents.
    I understand why your tree is so special for you.

  3. December 13, 2007 12:38 pm

    It’s a lovely tree and a treasured memory.

    Charlie Brown would understand. So would Linus.

    : D

  4. December 13, 2007 2:15 pm

    A truly monumental occasion! The picture looks great.

  5. December 14, 2007 5:20 pm

    I too am blessed with a husband wrapper. (And a husband shopper!) I too have blog posts unblogged – but because someone who is causing me heartache and stress has found my blogs. Everything I’ve written recently would make our relationship worse if I posted and I’m not sure I can deal with that. To censor, to repress, to pseudonym or to post be damned? eeny meeny miney mo. sigh.

  6. Ellen permalink
    December 15, 2007 1:22 am

    Love, love , love your first photo and your Charlie Brown tree! 🙂 Blessings…

  7. December 16, 2007 4:36 pm

    Girl! I love the photo!!! Good work on getting that posted.

    The tree is adorable!

  8. December 17, 2007 7:17 pm

    I love the tree and I love that you continue to put it up and remember…

    Well done on the pic posting!

  9. December 18, 2007 2:54 am

    Your tree is so precious! We dug out our ‘memory tree’ also and while I was about to declare last rites the children fluffed and primped and somehow convinced me again that memory tree must stay, at all costs! Great job on the photo upload – I have trouble with that when my head is clear so a burst of quiet applause (so I don’t further stress your head or awaken my sleeping beauties) is in order! I really enjoy your blog!

    Have you tried 2 aspirin and a mug of hot gingerale before bed? It clears a clogged head without fail. Might not appeal in your 80 degree heat, but it can’t hurt to try it!

    Blessings!
    Heather

Leave a Reply

