Skip to content

Homeschoolers get to take…

November 4, 2007

teachers’ workdays too! Last Wednesday evening Husband came in and propositioned me with an offer that I couldn’t refuse. He said that he was going to stay home and work around the house on yard work, equipment maintenance and spending time with the boys. He told me to take the day off, call a girlfriend and treat myself to some new Fall clothes.

After I burst into tears for the thoughtfulness of it all, I was faster than DSL to call said girlfriend and ask her to drop all plans not related to national security or curing genetic diseases so that she could go and play with me at any store that would let us in.

Thursday is typically the day I take to sleep in an extra 30 minutes, but not this Thursday. I was up, showered and ready with the requisite outfit to make fitting room changes quick and convenient–button down white shirt, just right denims and comfy shoes. The first store opened at 8:00 a.m. and saw our faces by 8:15. Shopping without a crowd or a peanut gallery is a win-win situation. The fact that there was a 50% off sale in process didn’t hurt our feelings either.

The mall caught our appearance by 10:00 where another sale plus reward cards, coupons and incentive discounts made the event successful and fun. I know it’s hunting season for many men these days, but Thursday was all about the girls bagging the bucks, blouses and boots.

A girls only late lunch capped off a day filled with giggles, special deals, fellowship, solving the world’s problems and thanking God for husbands and families that give generously back to these moms.

I do like teacher workday, although I think for homeschoolers it needs a better name. I’ll think about it. Any suggestions?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2007 12:39 am

    Sounds like “Staff Enrichment” to me!

  2. November 5, 2007 7:12 am

    I was going to say Staff Development Day.

  3. Jif permalink
    November 5, 2007 8:36 am

    Wow! What a great husband! But I have to say this doesn’t sound like any “teacher work day” I was a part of when I taught in the public school system. I think we called days like this “mental health” days. So glad you were able to enjoy one.

  4. November 5, 2007 6:41 pm

    Well, I don’t have any name suggestions, but I must say, that sounds like a Homeschooling Mom’s Dream Come True!

  5. November 7, 2007 2:52 pm

    Heck, that sounds like ANY mom’s dream come true! How fun!

Leave a Reply

