Skip to content

Today is cooking day…

October 27, 2007

here at the homestead. On the menu for production is an extra large pot of vegetable soup, two hamburger pies, a vegetable casserole, a yellow cake with chocolate icing and chocolate chip banana bread loaves and muffins.

Whew! I’m tired just typing that.

The vegetable soup will feed our church family tomorrow night. My cooking partner is also bringing a large pot of vegetable soup with sides too. Grilled cheese sandwiches, crackers and desserts (that yellow cake with chocolate icing) will round out the array. Christian fellowship will highlight the evening.

The hamburger pie will feed a family that just welcomed their new son. New moms should definitely receive a bye from cooking for a while, taking that time into consideration to meet newborn needs and new to being an older sibling needs. I’m grateful our church grants that gift to the new moms. It was a gift to me during that season of my life. Now I can return the gift.

The vegetable casserole will join another large offering of food bounty at a Fall Festival that a fellow soccer family hosts for friends. Hayrides, impromptu football, frisbee, impromptu soccer and a huge bonfire will top off that evening.

And the chocolate chip banana bread loaves and muffins will stock my freezer for the coming weeks as supplement and treat to the growing boys that clean out my pantry on a regular basis. When the grocery store offers 20 mildly ripened bananas for $1.00, it’s a deal I couldn’t pass up.

The apron is on, the stove is on, and so cooking day is on. Thanks be to God that tomorrow, the Lord’s Day, grants His feeding of us, His fellowship with us, and His many gifts to us for the spiritual growth and encouragement of the Body. Be in His House tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2007 1:41 pm

    Whew, mama! That list makes me tired just reading it.

    I know I have so benefitted from the “meals of mercy” my community of friends provides when one of us has a baby or some other kind of event where a break from cooking is a huge blessing.

    Sounds like you are going to be glorifying God in your kitchen today! Hope it’s fun. 🙂

  2. October 28, 2007 8:30 pm

    Mmmm. I am certain the folks who benefit from your day in the kitchen will enjoy the fruit of your labors.

    Makes me want a muffin to go with my coffee…

  3. October 29, 2007 8:14 pm

    Oh the meals!!! When we had our 2nd daughter families we did not even know from our new church showed up every other evening for 2 WEEKS and showered us with meals. It was the best!

Leave a Reply

