Skip to content

The chairman…

October 11, 2007

in my house refers to the youngest of our clan. The full nickname is Chairman of the Board. The name was bestowed on him by my Dad who recognized the familiar propensity of this child to sway the entire grouping of us to his point of view even at the tender age of two. The baby of the family is the keeper of old skills of persuasion.

Genetically I can call both sides of the family to account for this concoction of DNA because salesmen of roast beef dinners to a National Vegan Convention abound, proudly.

Case in point was this past weekend that while walking beside him, he looked up at me and said, “Mom, I’m almost as tall as you.” While I’m no giant, 5’5″ being my max, this child of the 10% in height is not nearly there either. Humoring him I replied, “Why yes, you are getting tall. I will have to stop feeding you so you can’t grow taller than me. I bet it’s the cookies that I let you eat.”

Without batting a long eyelash he straightforwardly stated, “No, it’s not the cookies. I believe it’s all the broccoli, green beans and spinach you feed me.”

#Sputter# He’s got the makings of a defense attorney pleading the Twinkie defense!

To which this mom, who bears the certificate of bearing up under Persuasive Skills 501 swiftly replied, “Well, you know, I wouldn’t let you eat the cookies if you didn’t eat the broccoli, green beans and spinach.”

“Yeah, mom. I know.”

I’m sure he’ll try again later. He’s after his masters degree. I only have a bachelors.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2007 10:47 am

    I have a sister, six years younger than me, that has always been The One In Charge in our family. It’s not that she’s so persuasive, it’s just that she’s very good at holding us all together.

    We’re all grown up now, but to this day, we joke that my parents clear their schedules through her.

  2. October 11, 2007 11:06 am

    We have a budding lawyer in our family, also. He finds EVERY loophole. I’m hoping I can mentally keep up….

    I’ve given you something over at my blog.

  3. October 11, 2007 2:49 pm

    Ah, yes…the great manipulation.

    Oh, and just so you know…my five year-old is 4’2″ tall. I’m 5’4″ on a good day.

Leave a Reply

