Skip to content

A name game…

August 23, 2007

meme is just what I need to break the slump, celebrate that the vacation laundry is done and ignore the remaining unpacked items. Thanks to Kristie at My Journey Home for the tag.

WHAT’S IN A NAME?

1. You have to post these rules before you give the facts.

2. Players, you must list one fact that is somehow relevant to your life for each letter of your middle name. If you don’t have a middle name, use the middle name you would have liked to have had.

3. When you are tagged you need to write your own blog-post containing your own middle name game facts.

4. At the end of your blog-post, you need to choose one person for each letter of your middle name to tag. Don’t forget to leave them a comment telling them they’re tagged, and to read your blog.

My middle name is Maria. Here’s just the facts.

M….Mom is my most commonly used name, and or some variation of it like Mommy, Mama, and My honey pie sugar puff. The last name is all I will respond to at the end of a day where the previous three versions have been used 62 times to the 14th power.

A….active. Not so much in a triathlon manner, but I enjoy staying active with my family, friends, homeschooling, church, teaching a ladies’ Bible study, and now the blogging.

R….right-handed I am. My sister is left-handed. Together we could be perfectly ambidextrous.

I….impressionist. I’m a mimic of voices, dialects and personalities. However, I only share such silliness with very close friends and family to try and crack them up. Sometimes a laugh, sometimes not. I’m no Rich Little, but I loved watching him as a child, and hold a fondness for good impressionists.

A….academic. I have always said that my favorite profession would be “career student.” I love to learn and read and study and take classes and so on. Yes, if I had a G in my middle name I would have to factozoid the word “geek.” There was a time in my life when I was ashamed of being academic, but now when I consider how really truly short the time is for learning, particularly about God and how He works in the world, I try to cram in as much as I can.

Typically I’m ambivalent towards the meme tags but honestly I should have a “‘C” in my middle name for curious about other people’s middle names. I think middle names are a fascinating trivia because they are usually loved, hated or ignored by most people. Naming a baby brings up all sorts of discussion about what the middle name initial will spell, how does it sound and so on. Here in the South where monograms are Queen, middle names get a lot of press.

So please take my tag as insatiable curiosity to know your middle name. Entertainment is light these days.
I’ll tag Lisa Writes, Kim at Hiraeth, Rebekah at Sweet Tea, and Lana G. Above the Clouds–one tag for each different letter of my middle name.

I’ll be back later with more academic posting, if I don’t melt.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2007 8:17 am

    Maybe I’ll play if I don’t melt… 🙂

  2. August 23, 2007 10:51 am

    Thanks for the tag! I’m almost done with mine. I needed some blogging inspiration today – this is appreciated. I’m having a bit of a lull and brain melt in regards to academic posting, too.

  3. August 23, 2007 12:15 pm

    Don’t have time (other duty’s call) but my middle name is Nicole:

    Need
    I
    Call
    On
    Lord
    Everyday?
    YES!

  4. August 23, 2007 3:48 pm

    I passed on to you the Thoughtful Blogger award today. 🙂

  5. August 24, 2007 7:03 am

    Hi Elle,

    Thanks for the tag! I hope you don’t mind if I skip this one for now, though. I’m in the throws of packing for vacation and finishing up preparation for home school which follows on the heels of vacation, so I’m skipping out on a lot of stuff right now.

  6. August 24, 2007 3:29 pm

    Kim, I completely understand. Godspeed to you on all the prep and packing.

Leave a Reply

